клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Ssireum

Ssireum
Photo from the web resource Korea World Wider

Русская версия


Ssireum (also called Sirum or Sireum) is a Korean wrestling style. Ssireum is the oldest of traditional Korean sports and is depicted in wall paintings in the royal tombs of the Goguryeo Kingdom (37 BC to 660 AD).

In traditional life, Ssireum was a popular activity on the Korean holiday of Dano (Spring Holiday), the fifth day of the fifth lunar month, and tournaments were held on other days, especially in the summer and autumn. The townspeople would gather sharing in their joy and release mental and physical tensions resulting from the strenuous work that lasted from spring to fall. In the past, the traditional prize for winning a tournament was an oxen, which represented the strength of a contestant and was also valuable in the agricultural society.

According to literature, Ssireum has been referred to by various names such as gakjo, gakhi, sangbak, jaenggyo, gakgii, with each name explaining how the methods of Ssireum have been developed. Gak, a commonly used prefix seems to have originated from the combative act performed by male horned animals such as oxen when competing against one another for the superiority of physical strength or over a female. Chinese people used to call the Korean combat style Koryogi, but since 1920 Koreans have been calling the traditional sport Ssireum. In modern Korea, the term has been shortened to just sirum.

Modern Ssireum is a form of belt wrestling rather resembling Swiss wrestling Schwingen. Each contestant wears two pieces of a cotton belt satba that wraps around the waist and the thigh.

Ssireum is conducted within a circular ring, measuring approximately 7 meters in diameter, which is covered with thick sand. Two contestants begin a Ssireum match by kneeling on the sand in a grappling position (baro japki); each grips the opponent's satba at the waist with the right hand and at the thigh with the left hand. The wrestlers then stand up, locked in this position until the referee gives the signal to begin. Once the competition is under way, the wrestlers have three minutes to score a fall. The first to cause the other to fall is declared the winner and the match is over. If a fall is not scored in 3 minutes, 3 minute overtime is played. If a fall is still not scored, the lighter wrestler is awarded the victory. There are four judges – a chief referee and three sub referees. Normally, professional Ssireum is contested in a best-out-of-three style match.

A fall is defined as the event in which any part of the wrestler's body above the knee touches the ground. Falls can be as simple as causing the other wrestler to fall backwards and sit down or as stunning as one wrestler lifting another and throwing him/her clear over his head while arching and spinning his/her body to avoid hitting the ground first.

To preserve the pure throwing nature of the art, techniques that involve striking, kicking and butting are prohibited. Wrestlers may not apply pressure against a joint, such as a finger lock or arm bar, to cause a fall. They are permitted to use their hands, legs, arms and torso to jockey for position and attempt to unbalance each other. Ground struggling is not used in Ssireum. Tactics to avoid fighting such as stalling, avoiding contact or deliberately going out of bounds are prohibited. These rules keep the competition active and prevent the match from becoming a boring stalemate.

Some experts consider Japanese wrestling Sumo as a successor of Ssireum. However, ssireum does not have the global popularity that sumo has - it has remained largely a national/traditional sport. Although both sports are quite similar, they differ in characteristics as well as values. Unlike sumo, pushing your opponent outside of the ring does not warrant a win, just a restart. Besides, pushing an opponent is not permitted in Ssireum, though it is in Sumo. In both sports, the competitors are quite large, though Korean wrestlers tend to be leaner. However, size does not guarantee success in either sport but it is more important in sumo.

Ssireum is one of the most attractive combat forms for women (comparable just with Schwingen). It is a peaceful competition focusing on harmony and unison. The victory is sought through a series of techniques, which inflict little harm or injury to the opponent. Many combative sports alienate women from practicing them because many women dislike striking and tight squeezing on the ground. There is no strikes and ground struggling in Ssireum, which attracts women to the sport even though there are no known official competitions for women yet.


Ssireum
World ‘ssireum’ championship at Seokchon Lake Park in Seoul, June 2011.
Two 'foreign women' engage in the traditional Korean wrestling.
Web site Korea Times


Ssireum
Two US female soldiers engage in Korean wrestling 'ssireum'
at the compound of the Yongsan Garrison in Seoul, South Korea. April 2008
Web site MilitaryPhotos


References

Wikipedia

Korean Ssireum Organization

Ssireum Research Institute

Turtle Press

International Korean Karate Association

Old Ssireum depiction
Ssireum

Ssireum


Ssireum techniques.
Pictures from the web site Ssireum Research Institute

Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques


Ssireum
Photo from the web resource Korean Ssireum Organization


Ssireum
Girls in the start Ssireum position



Ssireum World Championships. 2012 Women 80kg


Korean Culture Festival. Frankfurt, 2013
Ssireum Fight Woman vs. Man


Ssireum World Championship 2013. 70kg Sweden vs Germany


Young girls


>> Ethnic forms of wrestling

>> Combative activities


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Сирым

Ssireum
Photo from the web resource Korea World Wider

English version


Сирым (Ссирым, Ссиреум) - корейская национальная борьба. Это старейший традиционный корейский вид спорта - настенные изображения борцов можно обнаружить на гробницах королевства Когурё (37г. до н.э. - 660г. н.э.).

По традиции Сирым являлась популярной забавой во время корейского праздника ”Оволь Дано” (Весенний праздник). Соревнования по этой борьбе также проводились и в другие дни, особенно часто летом и осенью. Люди собирались для того, чтобы разделить радость и освободиться от морального и физического напряжения от тяжелой раборы, которая продолжалась от весны до осени. В прошлом наградой за победу в борцовском турнире являлся рогатый скот, который символизировал силу борца, а также представлял большую ценность в сельскохозяйственном обществе.

Согласно письменным источникам, древний сирым называли по-разному - гакйо, гакхи, сангбак, йаенгджио, гакгии - каждое имя описывало основной метод, на базе которого создавалась борьба. Гак - общий префикс для многих из них - обозначает акт физического единоборства двух самцов крупного рогатого скота за старшинство в стаде или за самку. Китайцы раньше называли это корейское единоборство Корёги. Начиная с 1920 года в Корее укрепилось название этого вида единоборств - сирым.

Современный сирым - это вид поясной борьбы, отчасти напоминающий швейцарскую борьбу "швинген". В настоящее время борцы Сирыма носят два матерчатых пояса "сатба" - один на талии, другой на бедре.

Поединок по сирыму проводитя на круглом ринге диаметром приблизительно семь метров, покрытом толстым слоем песка. Перед началом поединка по сирыму борцы становятся друг против друга на коленях (исходное положение в центре ринга – “баро йапки”). Каждый из них хватает правой рукой соперника за сатбу, опоясывающую талию, а левой рукой - за сатбу, опоясывающую правое бедро соперника. Затем борцы поднимаются и стоят сцепленные до сигнала судьи к началу поединка. Борцам дается три минуты для того, чтобы повалить соперника (положение "фолл" - падение). Победителем считается борец, первым заставившим соперника упасть, после чего схватка прекращается. Если за три минуты никому не удается добиться фолла, назначается дополнительный трехминутный раунд. Если и после этого, никому не удалось повалить соперника, победителем обьявляется более легкий соперник. Поединки судят четверо - главный рефери и три его помощника. В профессиональном сирыме победитель обычно определяется по результатам трех схваток.

Положение "фолл" фиксируется в том случае, когда один из борцов касается земли любой частью тела выше колен. Фолл может быть весьма простым, например один борец заставил другого сесть. Но это может быть и более впечатляющий прием - борец поднимает соперника, прогибается и бросает его/ее через голову, поворачиваясь так, чтобы не оказаться на земле первому.

С целью сохранения чистоты этого боевого искусства, запрещены любые приемы, связанные с ударами руками, ногами или головой. Запрещено давить на суставы с целью повалить соперника. Борцам разрешено использовать руки, ноги и торс, чтобы маневрировать в стойке, стараясь вывести соперника из равновесия. В сирыме не борются на земле. Тактика задержек и простоев запрещена, например, увиливание от борьбы, уход от контакта с соперником или преднамеренный выход за пределы ринга. Эти правила позволяют повысить состязательность и избежать скучных патовых ситуаций.

Некоторые специалисты считают, что японская борьба сумо происходит от сирыма. В то же время, сирым не получил такого широкого распространения как сумо - он остается в основном традиционным национальным корейским видом спорта. Хотя эти виды борьбы аналогичны, у них немало различий - в технике и установлениях. В отличие от сумо выталкивание соперника за пределы ринга не приносит победных очков - в этом случае поединок просто возобновляется. Помимо этого, в сирыме не допускаются толчки, широко используемые в сумо. В обоих видах спорта участвуют в основном крупные борцы, но среди борцов сирыма больше худощавых. Масса и размер тела сами по себе не гарантируют успех в каждом из этих двух видов, хотя для сумо этот фактор играет более существенную роль.

Сирым - один из самых привлекательных для женщин видов единоборств (сравнимый пожалуй только со швингеном). Это мирный вид единоборства, основанный на гармонии и согласии. Победа достигается с помощью отточенной техники, применение которой не наносит участникам поединка вреда, а возможность травм сведена к минимуму. Многие женщины не идут в единоборства, так как им не нравятся удары и жесткая плотная борьба на земле. В сирыме же удары запрещены, а борьба ведется только в стойке, что привлекает в этот вид спорта много женщин, хотя официальные женские соревнования пока видимо не проводятся.


Ssireum
Чемпионат мира по ссирыму. Сеокчон Лейк парк. Сеул, июнь 2011
Две "иностранки" соревнуются в традиционной корейско борьбе.
Вебсайт Korea Times


Ssireum
Американские женщины-военнослужащие в поединке по борьбе ссирым
в казармах Йонган в Сеуле, Южная Корея. 23 апреля 2008г.
Веб ресурс MilitaryPhotos


Ссылки

Wikipedia

Korean Ssireum Organization

Ssireum Research Institute

Turtle Press

International Korean Karate Association

Старинные изображения борьбы сирым

Ssireum

Ssireum


Приемы борьбы сирым.
Рисунки с вебресурса Ssireum Research Institute

Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques
Ssireum techniques


Ssireum
Фото с вебсайта Korean Ssireum Organization


Ssireum
Девушки в исходной позиции в поединке по сирыму



Чемпионат Мира по Сирыму. Категория 80кг. 2012


Фестиваль Корейской Культуры. Франкфурт, 2013
Поединок по сирыму между мужчиной и женщиной


Чемпионат Мира по Сирыму. 2013. Категория 70кгю Швеция - Германия


Соревнуются юные девочки


>> Национальные виды борьбы

>> Виды Единоборств


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: