клуб

female

женских

single combat

единоборств

club

Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports


Yi People: Gi Ge Wrestling

Upset the opponent's balance and take him/her down

Yi wrestling Gi Ge
Female wrestling match during the Torch Festival in 2009
Photo by Fujian Zhou, source Guizhou News

Русская версия


Classic Gi Ge wrestling
Men and women compete


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Bendibao

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling The World Encyclopedia by Wrestling A.C.Mandzyak and O.L.Artemenko, published in Minsk, 2010
(in Russian)


Men and women wrestling matches at the festival "Stone Forest" in Yunnan in 2012
Photo from the page Cina


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Women's matches at the Torch festival in 2009
Photos by Fujian Zhou, ресурс Guizhou News

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Wresting at the festival "Stone Long Lake" in 2015
Photo from the resource Nercsc


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

The Yi (Yí Zú) or Lô Lô people are an ethnic group in China, Vietnam, and Thailand. Numbering 8 million (small fraction of the China population); they are among the 55 ethnic minority groups officially recognized by the Chinese government. They live primarily in rural areas of Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou, and Guangxi, usually in mountainous regions. Some Lô Lô people live in Hà Giang, Cao Bàng, and Lào Cai provinces in northeastern Vietnam and also in the northeastern Thailand.

According to a Yi legend, in the days of old there lived three brothers-shepherds who mastered their martial arts imitated the way animals fight each other. So, the tradition considers animals as teachers of wrestling and martial arts. That is why during the ancient ritual of animal sacrifice to the gods, they hold wrestling tournaments. Yi people pretend to be like a tiger: strong and brave. The ability for fighting is the national common psychological characteristics. In the long process of social history, Yi people have created rich and colorful traditional sports culture, especially set strength, wisdom and skill of wrestling.

Relatively small people Yi have become internationally famous by their "Torch Festival" which is grandest traditional festival of the Yi people. It is celebrated on the 24th or 25th day of the sixth month of the Yi calendar, corresponding to August in the Gregorian calendar. (Different Yi ethnic groups set the festival at different time). It commemorates the legendary wrestler Atilaba, who drove away a plague of locusts using torches made from pine trees. The celebration includes various traditional Yi entertaining shows, games and sport competitions including torch rally, dancing, singing, beauty contest, wrestling, tug-of-war, horse race and archery as well as bull and cock fighting. Recently, local governments began sponsoring and organizing modernized celebrations of the festival, featuring some traditional show and contest, including extremely popular wrestling tournaments in which both - men and women participate. However, as it often happens, indigenous traditions are modernized in order to attract more foreign tourists by making them closer to so-called "popular culture". AS it will be mentioned below, this tendency also affects wrestling contests.

Yi Woman People come to the Torch Festivals, which lasts three days from every village round dressed in their best traditional costumes. Young men put on new jackets, trousers and head coverings decorated with a hero knot or cock's comb. Young women wear embroidered jackets, long trousers or long skirts with numerous pleats. They use various exotic headgears and turbans to cover their heads.

Yi dancer The Torch Festival is a good chance for young men and women to get to know each other and select their lovers and future mates. On the second and third days people gather on the vast meadow (or stadium) and hold various traditional Yi entertaining shows and sport competitions including dancing, singing, torch rally, wrestling, tug-of-war, horse race and archery as well as bull and cock fighting. Traditionally, these sports are mostly practiced by young men but in some highland areas girls and young women also participate in them including wrestling matches. While male winners of the wrestling competitions often become the top choice for the young women, female wrestlers also attract young men; along with singing and dancing proficiency, girls’ wrestling skills are highly valued by highlanders once they assert their health, strength, flexibility and agility – very useful qualities in severe natural conditions. The scene of the contest attracts crowds of spectators who surround the venue cheering the athletes. Young male spectators carry their tri-string instruments and flutes while females carry embroidered bags. The music and dance put the contest in a great animation.

Grand annual national Yi wrestling tournament in Shilin Autonomous County Stadium is one of the most known during Yi Torch festivals. More than 400 best wrestlers of both sexes come together from many neighboring areas to test their strength and skills. The scene is very exciting to compete fiercely to attract over 20,000 foreign tourists come to watch the games.

Yi wrestling The classic wrestling style practiced by the Yi people represents a standing belt wrestling style and called “Gi Ge” which literally means "holding waist". Bright wide colored girdles are usually used as belts. The traditional Gi Ge rules do not allow wresters to release the opponent's belt; at least one hand must hold the belt until the end of the match. In order to win, a wrestler has to throw the opponent onto the ground, usually making the opponent touch the ground by his back or shoulders. Once one or both wrestlers fall, the match is held up. Before a match the contestants embrace each other to show good will and kindness. At the order of the referee, they hold each other’s waist belts and start wrestling; each of them tries to unbalance the opponent.
The classic Gi Ge is based on three main rules:
- No tripping using the legs;
- No grabbing the jacket or pants;
- No pushing or striking.
There are no weight classes and time limit in the classic Gi Ge – wrestlers fight until the victory of one of them.

Since Yi people are dispersed oved a large mountainous area, wrestling rules and terns vary from place to place. Although contemporary wrestling rules vary notably from the classic traditional ones (it is done in order to attract more foreign tourists), the main standing principle remains unchanged. Yi wrestling In various contemporary ethnic forms of Yi wrestling, arm holds above and below the waist are allowed as well as attacks by legs and against legs. One of the favorite techniques is a hold a leg by an arm as leverage for a throw. There are several different conditions for winning the match. The simplest one is to force the opponent to touch the ground by any body part except feet. According some local rules, you must throw the opponent down on his back or shoulders; in some other cases, you have to force the opponent to touch the ground by "three points". Despite Yi wrestlers traditionally do not fight on the ground, sometimes wrestlers fallen onto the ground continue fighting for several seconds trying to demonstrate dominance.

Recently, in order to make wrestling events more exciting, some tournaments (including Shiln's one) include female wrestling contests on wet red soil in which contestants are allowed to fight on the ground. In other words, it is an odd combination of Gi Ge with mud wrestling.

Until recently, male and female wrestlers competed wearing their festive costumes being girdled on with colored sashes. Women even did not take off their indispensable headgears, turbans or kerchiefs – depending on the region. However, nowadays, the wrestler's uniform has been substantially simplified – up to T-shirts, jeans and sneakers. Nowadays, many male contestants wrestle barebacked wearing short pants only. Girls and women also compete in casual attire and bareheaded. Need I say a word or two about the convenience of not having long skirt or big hats when wrestling?

In fact, many Gi Ge techniques are utilized into the practice of the Yi traditional Wushu style "Yi Quan" (The fist of Yi).


Sources

Мандзяк А.С., Артеменко О.Л. Энциклопедия традиционных видов борьбы народов мира

Torch Festival

Torch Carnival (in Chinese)

Women's wrestling at the Long Lake Festival (in Chinese)

Yi Torch Festival (in Chinese)

Yi: Wrestling Torch is the most fancy grand grand festival (in Chinese)

Meigu: Yi "wrestling town (in Chinese)

Meigu: Yi "wrestling town" (in Chinese)

Yi Wrestling (in Chinese)

Liangshan Yi wrestling and style statement (in Chinese)

History of the Yi Sports and Culture: Yi-style wrestling (in Chinese)


Final moments of female matches at the Torch festival in 2009
Photos by Fujian Zhou, source Guizhou News


Yi Gi Ge wrestling

Yi Gi Ge wrestling

Folk Torch Festival "Stone Forest" in Yunnan, 2015. Forty female wrestlers gathered from the neighboring counties to participate in the wrestling tournament.
Фото со странички Cina

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Episodes of modern forms of Yi wrestling at Torch festivals


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Lin Jian's Blog


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Yunnan Province Department of Agriculture


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Chinese civilization


Female wrestling on the red soil
at the festival "Stone Forest" in Yunnan
Photo from the resource Sohu News


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Final moment of a wrestling match at the Shilin festival
Photo from teh resource Yunnan Network


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Torch Festival "Stone Forest" in Yunnan, 2015. Heat moment
Yi Gi Ge wrestling
Source: Yunnan news channel


>> Ethnic traditional fighting

>> Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports

>> Combative activities

>> Combat History


Пишите Нам / Contact Us


Последнее обновление:

Last updated:


Информация, содержащаяся на данном сайте, является интеллектуальной собственностью ее авторов и владельцев.

Information contained on the site belongs to its authors and owners.

В соответствии с международными законами об авторских правах, при перепечатке материалов с этого сайта необходимо ставить видимую ссылку на "Клуб женских единоборств" с указанием электронного адреса: http://fscclub.com .

In accordance to the international copyright laws, a visible reference to the "Female Single Combat Club" must be placed as well as the URL address: http://fscclub.com if any material from the site is reprinted.

Авторские права © 2000 ЛеВВ. Все права защищены

Copyright © 2000 LeVV. All rights reserved

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 

Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства


Народ Ицзу: Борьба Ги-Ге

Вывести соперника из равновесия и бросить на землю

Yi wrestling Gi Ge
Женский борцовский поединок на Факельном фестивале. 2009г.
Фото Fujian Zhou, ресурс Guizhou News

English version


Классическая борьба Ги-Ге
Борются мужчины и женщины


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Bendibao

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling Мандзяк А.С., Артеменко О.Л. Энциклопедия традиционных видов борьбы народов мира, Минск. 2010


Мужские и женские поединки на фестивале "Каменный лес" в провинции Юньнань, 2012г.
Фото со странички Cina


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Женские схватки на Факельном фестивале, 2009г.
Фото Fujian Zhou, ресурс Guizhou News

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Борьба на Факельном фестивале "Длинное каменное озеро", 2015г.
Фото с ресурса Nercsc


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Народ Ицзу (Yí Zú), или "И" (Yí), или Ло-ло (Lô Lô) - это группа горских племен и народностей, насчитывающая в общей сложности около 8 миллионов человек (крошечный процент от населения Китая), населяет горные районы провинций Сычуань, Юньнань, Гуйчжоу и Гуанси на юге Китая, а также северовьетнамские провинции Хазянг, Каобанг и Лаокай. Небольшая часть ицзу поживает на северо-востоке Тайланда. Большинство ицзу живут небольшими разбросанными группами в высокогорных районах.

По преданию ицзу в глубокой древности жили-были три брата-пастуха, они учились единоборству у животных, подражая им и перенимая их приёмы. С тех пор народная традиция считает животных учителями людей в единоборстве, поэтому во время старинного ритуала жертвоприношения горцы традиционно устраивали состязания в борьбе, которую называют "ги-ге". Символом народа ицзу является тигр, а умение сражаться и бороться – одна из основных психологических и физических качеств этого горского народа. На протяжении веков ицзу создали разнообразные и оригинальные виды спорта, особенно те, в которых необходимы сила, мудрость и ловкость.

Небольшой народ ицзу получил международную известность благодаря ежегодным традиционным народным "Факельным фестивалям". Главный праздник ицзу наступает на 24й или 25й день шестого месяца по местному лунному календарю (что обычно соответствует августу по Григорианскому календарю). Факельные фестивали посвящены легендарному герою и борцу Атилабе, который сумел совладать с нашествием саранчи с помощью факелов, сделанных из сосны. Традиционными мероприятиями этих фестивалей являются факельные шествия, танцы и пение, конные скачки, бои быков и петухов, конкурс красавиц, а также популярнейшие в народе борцовские турниры. В последние десятилетия провинциальные власти автономных уездов, в которых проживают ицзу, взяли под свою опеку, контроль и материальное обеспечение эти традиционные празднования, в рамках которых, наряду с другими мероприятиями, проводятся борцовские турниры, в которых участвуют как мужчины, так и женщины. Как это часто случается, с целью большего привлечения туристов, национальные традиции видоизменяют, делая их ближе к "массовой культуре". Как мы увидим ниже, это относится и к правилам проведения борцовских состязаний.

Yi Woman На этот праздник, который длится три дня, съезжаются люди из окрестных селений, надев самые лучшие традиционные национальные костюмы; юноши и молодые мужчины носят праздничные жакеты и штаны, а на голове - шапки украшенные "бантами героев" или обрамленные петушиными гребнями. Женщины носят вышитые жакеты, длинные складчатые юбки или шаровары, а на голове - большие экзотические шляпы различной формы, напоминающие тюрбаны.

Yi dancer Факельный фестиваль представляет молодым мужчинам и женщинам прекрасную возможность поднакомиться друг с другом и выбрать партнёра и будущего супруга. На второй и третий день фестиваля все собираются на главной большой поляне (или на стадионе, если такой имеется), где проводятся праздничные мероприятия: танцы, пение, факельные шествия, различные забавы и спортивные состязания, которые включают разнообразные соревнования, включая непременный борцовский турнир. Традиционно в спортивных состязаниях по большей части участвуют мужчины, в то время как девушки и женщины танцуют, поют и подбадривают участников состязаний. Тем не менее, как и у ряда других горских народов, женщины ицзу также охотно состязаются друг с другом в силе и ловкости, в том числе, в борцовских поединках. Мужчины, отличившиеся в борьбе рассчитывают на повышенное внимание и благосклонность девушек, в то время как смелые девушки, успешно выступающие в борцовских схватках, также привлекают парней своей силой, грацией, гибкостью и подвижностью – качества, полезные в суровых условиях гор. Вокруг арены борцовских схваток собирается большое количество зрителей в праздничных костюмах, которые поддерживают участников пением и игрой на музыкальных инструментах.

Один из самых известных борцовских турниров во время Факельных фестивалей проводится в автономном уезде Шилин, на стадионе, вмещающем 20 тысяч зрителей (заполняют его, в основном, иностранные туристы). На этот грандиозный турнир съезжаются 400 лучших борцов обоего пола со всех окресных мест, чтобы состязаться в силе и ловкости.

Yi wrestling Классический ги-ге – это стоячая борьба на поясах, ведь само словосочетание ги-ге означает "держать за пояс". Поясами, как правило, служат цветные кушаки. В традиционной классической разновидности ги-ге не разрешается выпускать из рук пояс соперника, по крайней мере одной рукой необходимо держаться за пояс до конца поединка. Для победы необходимо бросить соперника на землю. После падения одного или обоих сопериков борьба приостановливается. Перед началом поединка соперники дружески обнимают друг друга, чтобы продемонстрировать добрую волю. По команде рефери борцы хватают друг друга за пояса и начинается схватка, в которой каждый старается вывести соперника из равновесия.
Классический стиль ги-ге основан на трёх основных принципах:
- Запрещены подножки.
- Нельзя хвататься за одежду, кроме пояса.
- Нельзя производить удары и толкаться.
В классической борьбе Ги Ге не существует весовых категорий и лимитов по времени – борются до победы одного из борцов.

Поскольку племена ицзу разбросаны на большой гористой территории стиль борьбы в разных местах значительно варьируется, причём в последнее время (для привлечения большего числа туристов) стали отходить от строгих установлений классической ги-ге, хотя основной принцип борьбы в основном сохраняется: борьба ги-ге – это борьба в стойке без продолжения схватки на земле. Yi wrestling В некоторых современных разновидностях борьбы различных этнических групп народа ицзу разрешены захваты обеими руками выше, а иногда и ниже пояса, а также разнообразные воздействия ногами на ноги соперника. Излюбленный приём – захват рукой за ногу с последующим броском. Для победы не всегда достаточно просто бросить соперника, заставив его коснуться земли любой точкой тела, кроме ступни. Согласно многим местным правилам, для победы необходимо бросить соперника на спину или на лопатки, а в некоторых случаях – обязательно на "три точки". Несмотря на запрет бороться на земле, одновременно упавшие на землю борцы иногда ещё продолжают борьбу на земле в течение нескольких секунд, стараясь утвердить своё превосходство.

В последнее время, для привлечения иностранных туристов, некоторые женские борцовские схватки в Шилине проводятся на влажных площадках из краснозёма, причём соперницам дозволяется продолжать борьбу на земле. Иными словами, получается гремучая смесь традиционной ги-ге с борьбой в грязи.

До недавнего времени мужчины и женщины, участвовавшие в праздничных борцовских поединках на Факельных фестивалях, боролись в традиционных одеждах, подпоясываясь цветными кушаками. В последнее время одежда борцов значительно упростилась и стала более демократичной – вплоть до футболок, джинсов и кроссовок. Мужчины чаще всего борются в коротких штанах с обнаженнным торсом. И девушки часто выходят на поединок в повседневной одежде без головных уборов. Стоит ли говорить, что в длинных юбках и огромных шапках бороться не слишком удобно.

Многие элементы борьбы ги-ге вошли в практикуемые ицзу стили традиционного Ушу "ицзу цюань" (кулак ицзу).


Источники

Мандзяк А.С., Артеменко О.Л. Энциклопедия традиционных видов борьбы народов мира. Минск 2010г.

Torch Festival

Torch Carnival (по-китайски)

Women's wrestling at the Long Lake Festival (по-китайски)

Yi Torch Festival (по-китайски)

Yi: Wrestling Torch is the most fancy grand grand festival (по-китайски)

Meigu: Yi "wrestling town (по-китайски)

Meigu: Yi "wrestling town" (по-китайски)

Yi Wrestling (по-китайски)

Liangshan Yi wrestling and style statement (по-китайски)

History of the Yi Sports and Culture: Yi-style wrestling (по-китайски)


Концовки женских схваток на Факельном фестивале, 2009г.
Фото Fujian Zhou, ресурс Guizhou News


Yi Gi Ge wrestling

Yi Gi Ge wrestling

Факельный фестиваль "Каменный лес" в провинции Юньнань, 2015. Сорок женщин-борцов собрались со всех соседних уездов, чтобы принять участие в турнире по национальной борьбе.
Фото со странички Cina

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Различные эпизоды современной женской борьбы на фестивалях ицзу


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Lin Jian's Blog


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Yunnan Province Department of Agriculture


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling
Chinese civilization


Женская борьба в грязи
на фестивале "Каменный лес" в провинции Юньнань
Фото с ресурса Sohu News


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling

Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Завершающий эпизод поединка на Факельном фестивале в Шилине
Фото с ресурса Yunnan Network


Torch Festival. Gi Ge wrestling


Фестиваль "Каменный лес" в провинции Юньнань, 2015г. Жаркий момент схватки
Yi Gi Ge wrestling
Источник: Yunnan news channel


>> Национальные виды борьбы

>> Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства

>> Виды единоборств

>> История единоборств


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: