клуб

female

женских

single combat

единоборств

club

Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports

Yakö People: Kepu wrestling

Yakurr wrestling
Photo by Bruce Whitehouee, PhD

Русская версия


Yakö also spelled Yakö or Yakurr, people of the Cross River region of eastern Nigeria; they speak Loko, a language of the Benue-Congo branch of the Niger-Congo family. The territory of the Yakö, just over 150 square kilometers in area in the dense tropical forest, at the left bank of the middle Cross River, close to the border with Cameroon. The Yakö are mainly yam farmers; subsidiary crops include cocoyams (taro), corn (maize), okra, and pumpkin. The main cash crop is palm oil. The Yakö occupy compact villages divided into wards, each containing several patrilineal clans. The Yakö villages are separated from each other by distances of from five to eight miles. The Yakö numbered 38,204 people at the last published census (1953).

Wrestling competitions play an important role in Yakö life and culture. Every Yakö settlement (village) has its own peculiar wrestling traditions in the network of the common tradition of Kepu (wrestling). In fact, it is a free style without preliminary hold prevails. A contest is held standing without continuation wrestling on the ground. In order to win a bout, the contestant must throw the opponent down into the ground regardless off on his/her back or on any other body part. Tripping and other leg-to-leg techniques are allowed.

Being an integral part of Yakö culture, wrestling is an element of children education and the initiation rituals as well as the main event in calendar celebrations and holidays where villagers compete in strength and stamina. The most known festival celebration “Leboku” dedicated to yam harvest is held in the town of Ugep. Wrestling events take place on the second day of the festival, which is called “female day” (“Janeboku”). On that day, men and women compete in wrestling competitions. Results of these competitions are important for both sexes. For a girl, it is especially honorable because a day after, at the parade and at the dance program, girls will appear according to their “rank” determined a day before in the wrestling tournament. The wrestling rules are practically the same for men and women. According to witnesses watched contests in Ugep, women demonstrate more passion and heat than men. Just one particular feature: female matches take place on a mat and in a ring modeled after American-style WWE wrestling, which is popular among Nigerian television viewers, especially children. Unlike WWE though, Yakö wrestling is a real contest rather than a circus show!

August 2010


Maidens at the Leboku parade and at the dance program appear according to their “rank” determined a day before in the wrestling tournament
Photos from the sites Kansas University and Nigeria Films
            


Videoclips






Sources:

Nigerian Culture. Wiki

Yakurr. Wiki.

Leboku. Wiki.

Nigeria by Bruce Whitehouse, PhD

Umor Revisited: a Diachronic Study of Sacrosanct Principles Embedded in the Yakurr Leboku Festival

Ugep. Most Colorful Festival in West Africa! by Bobtee

Joshua Project

The Mbembe and the Yakö

Yakö - Orientation

Yakurr On-line


>> Ethnic forms of wrestling

>> Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports

>> Combative activities

>> Combat History


Пишите Нам / Contact Us


Последнее обновление:

Last updated:


Информация, содержащаяся на данном сайте, является интеллектуальной собственностью ее авторов и владельцев.

Information contained on the site belongs to its authors and owners.

В соответствии с международными законами об авторских правах, при перепечатке материалов с этого сайта необходимо ставить видимую ссылку на "Клуб женских единоборств" с указанием электронного адреса: http://fscclub.com .

In accordance to the international copyright laws, a visible reference to the "Female Single Combat Club" must be placed as well as the URL address: http://fscclub.com if any material from the site is reprinted.

Авторские права © 2000 ЛеВВ. Все права защищены

Copyright © 2000 LeVV. All rights reserved

клуб

female

женских

single combat

единоборств

club

Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства

Народность Якё: Борьба Кепу

Yakurr wrestling
Фото Доктора Брюса Уайтхауза

English Version


Якё (Якурр) – народность в Нигерии, населяющая штат Кросс-Ривер. Говорят на языке локо, отосящимся к нигерийско-конголезской языковой семье. Якё занимают небольшую территорию в 150 кв. км в густых тропических лесах, на левом берегу среднего течения реки Кросс, недалеко от границы с Камеруном. Основным занятием Якё является выращивание ямса, помимо которого они выращивают также кукурузу, окру и тыкву; также производят пальмовое масло. Якё живут в компактных селениях, состоящих из больших дворов, в каждом из которых живет несколько кланов по мужской линии. Селения находятся друг от друга на расстоянии от 8 до 13 километров. Численность Якё по последней переписи 1953 года – 38204.

Состязания по борьбе занимают важное место в жизни и культуре Якё. В каждом большом селении Якё сложились свои особенности борьбы, в рамках общей традиции Кепу (борьбы). В целом, у народа якё превалирует борьба вольного стиля без обязательного предварительного захвата. Схватка ведется только в стойке без продолжения борьбы на земле. Разрешено проводить захваты руками за ноги и выполнять приемы с воздействием ногами на ноги соперника. Для победы необходимо бросить соперника на землю, при этом не обязательно на спину.

Будучи неотъемлемой частью культуры Якё, борьба входит в программу обучения детей, является элементом обряда инициации, а также состязанием в силе и выносливости во время проведения некоторых календарных праздников. Особенно известен ежегодный фестиваль урожая ямса «Лебоку» в городе Угеп. Борьба проходит на второй день празднования, который называется «женским днем» - «джаненбоку». В этот день мужчины и женщины соревнуются в борьбе. Результаты борцовских состязаний имеют большое значение для представителей обоего пола. Для девушек победить в борьбе особенно почетно, поскольку в параде третьего дня, «Летебоку» и в танцевальных выступлениях девушки выстраиваются в соответствии с их силой, выявленной в борцовских поединках накануне. Более того, номинации и присуждение титула «Мисс фестиваля» также зависят от результатов борцовских состязаний. Женская борьба в правилах практически ничем не отличается от мужской. Но, как отмечают очевидцы, наблюдавшие состязания у якё в Угепе, в схватках женщин порой больше страсти и накала, нежели у мужчин. Тем не менее есть одна особенность женских схваток – они проходят на матах и ограничены канатами как на ринге WWE, шоу профессионального реслинга, популярного в Нигерии. Но, в отличие от про-реслинга, борьба Якё – это настоящее единобоство, а не цирковое представление!

Август 2010г.


Девушки на параде Лебоку и в танцевальной программе Летебоку строятся в соответствии с их результатами в состязаниях по борьбе накануне
Фотографии с сайтов с сайта Kansas University и Nigeria Films
            


Видеоклипы






Ссылки:

Якё. Википедия

Лебоку. Wiki (по-английски).

Якурр. Wiki (по-английски).

Нигерийская культура. Wiki (по-английски).

Др. Брюс Уайтхаус. Нигерия (по-английски).

Священные принципы фестиваля Лебоку народности Якурр (по-английски).

Угеп. Наиболее яркий фестиваль в Западной Африке! (по-английски).

Joshua Project (по-английски).

Мбембе и Якё (по-английски).

Якё (по-английски).

Yakurr On-line (по-английски).


>> Национальные виды борьбы

>> Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства

>> Виды единоборств

>> История единоборств


Пишите Нам / Contact Us


Последнее обновление:

Last updated:


Информация, содержащаяся на данном сайте, является интеллектуальной собственностью ее авторов и владельцев.

Information contained on the site belongs to its authors and owners.

В соответствии с международными законами об авторских правах, при перепечатке материалов с этого сайта необходимо ставить видимую ссылку на "Клуб женских единоборств" с указанием электронного адреса: http://fscclub.com .

In accordance to the international copyright laws, a visible reference to the "Female Single Combat Club" must be placed as well as the URL address: http://fscclub.com if any material from the site is reprinted.

Авторские права © 2000 ЛеВВ. Все права защищены

Copyright © 2000 LeVV. All rights reserved