клуб

female

женских

single combat

единоборств

club

Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports

Inner Mongolia: Bukh Barildah wrestling

"Truly men" activity

Mongol wrestling
Wrestling match at Ordos International Naadam Fair in China's Inner Mongolia
Photo by Xinhua Agency

Русская версия


Wrestling matches at Naadam Festivals


Photo by "zatoichi213" from the page on Flickr

Naadam Festival

Naadam Festival

Naadam Festival

Naadam Festival


Photo from the album Mongolian horse races, wrestling and games
Naadam Festival
Naadam Festival


Photo by Xinhua Agency
Naadam Festival

The Mongols came from the plains of the north and northwest of China. In 1206 this nomadic group united around a tribal prince named Temujin who took the name Genghis Khan which means "universal ruler". The Mongols had no settled homes and did not grow any crops. Their families lived in portable felt dwellings, called yurts or gers, which were made of thick woolen cloth stretched over a wooden frame. These nomad warriors moved from place to place, hunting wild animals for food and seeking fresh grass for their horses, sheep and cows. Everyone travelled on horseback – Mongol children were taught to ride by the time they were five years old. Mongol men and women valued warrior skills, such as toughness, bravery and strength.

During long military campaigns when men were out women took care of homes and land, so they had to know how to fight, with weapon or without it. The Venetian merchant Marco Polo describes a Mongol princess named Ai-Yaruk, or "Bright Moon," (she is known as Khutulun*) who refused to get married until she met a man that could throw her. It is likely that during his travels Polo really did see some Mongol women wrestling. Mongol wrestling is jacket wrestling and the ulterior motive is to gain reputation and/or property. Princess Ai-Yaruk, for instance, reportedly won thousands of horses during her bouts with luckless suitors.

Wrestling in the modern Inner Mongolia territory has a history of nearly 2,000 years. On the bronze plates unearthed from the ruins of the Hun of the early Han Dynasty, there are even motifs featuring wrestling. Originally, Mongolian wrestling Bokh was very much focused on its nature as a military sport, mainly for strength, stamina and skills training. The Yuan-Dynasty Emperors were keen supporters of the wrestling sport. Whenever there were important feasts, wrestlers were invited to add to the fun. And wrestling was a key item for deciding the candidate rankings in imperial martial exams. Outstanding wrestlers were entitled to high distinctions.

In old times, any wresting event included a female round. Till the 14th century there were also Mongol women warrior wrestlers such as Khutulun. Ancient Mongols thought that strong, healthy, fully productive and developed women are essential to maintain the nation. Then this practice ceased, probably due to Buddhism influence. While in Mongolia women stopped wrestling long ago, in Chinese Inner Mongolia they managed to preserve the sport. Currently, the biggest wrestling events in Inner Mongolia occur during the Naadam Fair (“Game Fair”), a festival of Mongolian ethnic group. Naadam Fair is the most important holiday of Mongolians. Nowadays, hundreds of female wrestlers come together at this annual folk festival held on the grasslands of Inner Mongolia - to pit their skills and strength against each other and to amuse numerous spectators.

Mongolian wrestling style Bokh (“strength, solidarity and durability” in Mongolian), which remains extremely popular until now, was born in the 11th centuryю This style consists of two sub-styles: Khalkas style Bohiin Barildaan, popular in the state of Mongolia and Bukh Barildah popular in the Chinese province of Inner Mongolia.

In fact, Bukh Barildah is a form of the traditional Mongolian wrestling Bokh (Bukh), extremely popular across Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region in China, among local ethnic groups – Mongols and Buryats. Some other ethnic groups call this wrestling style differently: Validi, Tali, etc.

The technical rules in the Mongolian version and what is found in Inner Mongolia have some divergence. In both versions a variety of throws, trips and lifts are employed to topple the opponent. Wrestlers use specific technique – grabbing by a jacket ("jodag") which is mandatory for wrestlers. The Inner Mongolians may not touch their opponent's legs with their hands, whereas, in Mongolia, grabbing your opponent's legs is legal. In addition, striking, strangling or locking is illegal in both varieties.

The wrestler’s outfit is also different in Inner Mongolia and Mongolia itself. Wrestlers of the state of Mongolia wear a tight heavy-duty short-sleeved jacket “jodag" of red or blue color. Traditionally made of wool, modern wrestlers have changed to looser materials such as cotton and silk. Wrestlers in Mongolia must have the front open, but tied at the back with a simple string knot, thus exposing the wrestler's chest. According to a legend, on one occasion a wrestler defeated all other combatants and ripped open the jodag to reveal her breasts, showing to all she was a woman. From that day, the jodag had to reveal the wrestler's chest. In the state of Mongolia, wrestlers wear small tight-fitting briefs made of red and blue colored cotton cloth (“shuudag”) covering thighs and exposing the belly. In Inner Mongolia exposing chest is not mandatory (which suits women); wrestler’s attire consists of leather jacket (“tseezhne”) lined with silver or copper circular plates, multicolored belts and loose trousers (“shalbyr”). Wrestlers of both styles wear leather boots with slightly upturned toes (“gutal”). Wrestlers who have gained considerable renown through contests may also wear a jangga, a necklace decorated with strands of colorful silk ribbons. Depending on the numbers of victories, wrestlers are awarded lifelong titles: Avraga (Giant), Arslan (Lion), Zaan (Elephant), etc.

Nowadays, wrestling is very popular in Inner Mongolia – among both men and women. Competitions are held in a simple and solemn manner. The number of participants in a wrestling match must be the power of 2, such as 32, 64, 128, etc. When the match begins, wrestlers wave their strong arms and dance into the site by imitating the movements of lions, deer and eagles. While women in the state of Mongolia do not participate in wrestling contests unless for tourist amusement, in Inner Mongolia their participation is on a large scale.

Bukh Barildah matches are typically conducted outdoors, except during extremely cold winters, when it is held indoors. Mongolian wrestlers are not paired by size or weight, and there’s no time limit for the match. A wrestler loses if and when he touches the ground with any part above his knees. The sport of wrestling requires good coordination between waist and leg movements. A wrestler is expected to fully display his strength and skills in the match.

The legendary grappling skills of Mongolian wrestlers have influenced Chinese Kung Fu practitioners and Russian Sambo.


Sources

Women in Mongolia.

Mongolian wrestling.

The Mongols and Princess Aiyaruk.

The Women Who Ruled the Mongol Empire.

Ordos: Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. Video.

The Wrestler princess show.

Mongolian wrestling. Video.

Mongolian horse races, wrestling and games.

Dallas wrestling Inner Mongolian woman. Video.

Mongolian wrestling. Photographs by Ulrika Jansson.

Girls Mongolian Wrestling.


Two Girls wear men's wrestling jackets "zodag" back to front in order to cover the chest and successfully wrestle
Photographs by Ulrika Jansson

Mongolian wrestling


Videoclips


800 female wrestlers have come together to compete at an annual folk festival in Ordos.



Mongolian girl wrestles a tourist

Photographs from the site Girls Mongolian Wrestling


Wrestling matches at Naadam Festival

Naadam Festival

Mongolian wrestling


Tourists try Mongolian wrestling in Inner Mogolia

Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling


>> Ethnic forms of wrestling

>> Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports

>> Combative activities

>> Combat History


Пишите Нам / Contact Us


Последнее обновление:

Last updated:


Информация, содержащаяся на данном сайте, является интеллектуальной собственностью ее авторов и владельцев.

Information contained on the site belongs to its authors and owners.

В соответствии с международными законами об авторских правах, при перепечатке материалов с этого сайта необходимо ставить видимую ссылку на "Клуб женских единоборств" с указанием электронного адреса: http://fscclub.com .

In accordance to the international copyright laws, a visible reference to the "Female Single Combat Club" must be placed as well as the URL address: http://fscclub.com if any material from the site is reprinted.

Авторские права © 2000 ЛеВВ. Все права защищены

Copyright © 2000 LeVV. All rights reserved

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 

Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства

Внутренняя Монголия: Борьба Бух Барилдах

Занятие для "истинных мужчин"

Mongol wrestling
Борцовский поединок на Международном празднике Наадам в Ордосе, Внутренняя Моноголия
Фото агентства Синьхуа

English version


Борцовские поединки на фестивалях Наадам


Фотографии "zatoichi213" с его странички на сайте Flickr

Naadam Festival

Naadam Festival

Naadam Festival

Naadam Festival


Фото со странички Монгольские скачки, борьба и игры
Naadam Festival
Naadam Festival


Фото Агентства Синьхуа
Naadam Festival

Монголы жили на равнинах к северу и северо-востоку Китайской Империи. В 1206 году несколько разрозненных монгольских кочевых племен объединились под руководством Тэмуджина, который позже принял имя Чингиз-хан, что означает «правитель мира». Монголы не имели постоянных жилищ и не занимались земледелием. Они жили в юртах, больших переносных палатках из войлока с деревянным каркасом. Эти воинственные племена кочевали на большие расстояния в поисках свежих пастбищ для своих лошадей, овец и коров, а также занимались охотой на диких зверей. Почти все они перемещались верхом на лошадях, поэтому детей с пяти лет обучали верховой езде. Монгольские мужчины и женщины были хорошо физически тренированы, обладали боевыми навыками, недюжинной силой и доблестью.

Во время длительных военных кампаний, когда мужчины были далеко от семей, женщины заботились о защите семей и территорий, поэтому они хорошо умели драться, с оружием и без него. Венецианский купец Марко Поло рассказал о монгольской принцессе Ай-Ярук ("яркая луна"), известная под именем Хутулун*, которая отказывалась выйти замуж, пока она не встретит мужчину, способного одолеть ее в борьбе. Вероятно, Марко Поло во время своего путешествия не раз видел борьбу монголок. Монгольская борьба - это борьба в куртках, и главная цель ее участников - повысить свою репутацию и/или получить приз. Принцесса Ай-Ярук, например, выиграла тысячи лошадей после своих победоносных схваток с неудачливыми претендентами.

Борьба – древнее занятие жителей территорий современных Монголии и Внутренней Монголии – на бронзовой дощечке, изготовленной около 2 тысяч лет назад при династии Хан, изображены борцы. Первоначально монгольская борьба «боке» применялась как воинский спорт, для тренировки силы, ловкости и выносливости. Императоры династии Юань были активно поддерживали этот вид спорта. На любых важных государственных мероприятиях неизменно проводились схватки борцов. Борцовские навыки сосавляли важный критерий отбора в императорскую гвардию. Лучшие борцы были в большом почете.

В старину борцовские состязания включали в себя и единоборство женщин. До 14 века в Монголии существовали не только женщины-борцы, но и женщины-воины, как знаменитая принцесса Хутулун. Древние монголы считали, что сильные, физически развитые продуктивные женщины – основа существования нации. Позже, традиция женской борьбы прекратилась, по-видимому, под влиянием буддизма. Если в Монголии женщины давно уже не участвуют в борцовских состязаниях, то в китайской Внутренней Монголии они сумели сохранить этот вид спорта. В настоящее время самые крупные борцовские турниры проводятся во время фестиваля этнических монголов «Наадам» (монг. «ярмарка игр»). Тысячи женщин собираются на эти ежегодные народные фестивали на лугах Внутренней Монголии, чтобы померяться друг с другом силой и ловкостью, а также развлечь многочисленных зрителей.

Современный стиль монгольской борьбы «боке», или “бух» (что по монгольски означает «сила, единство, прочность») зародился в 11 веке. Этот стиль состоит из двух ветвей – халхасская разновидность «бохийн барилдаан», получившая развитие в государстве Монголия и стиль “бух барилдах», популярный в китайской провинции Внутренняя Монголия.

Национальная борьба бух барилдах («борьба силачей») – один из видов традиционной монгольской борьбы боке (или бух), имеющий распространение у ряда монгольских народов и бурятов, проживающих в автономном районе Внутренняя Монголия (территория саверо-восточного Китая). У некоторых народов она известна под своими местными названиями, например, монгоры называют ее валиди, дауры – буке тали (см. Буке тали) и т.д. По технике и многим ритуалам, бух барилдах во многом схожа с халхасской разновидностью борьбы (Бохийн Барилдаан), общеизвестной как национальный вид борьбы Монголии.

Правила и способы ведения поединков в Монголии и Внутренней Монголии немного отличаются. В обоих стилях существует набор приемов, используемых для того, чтобы повалить соперника – броски, подсечки, подъемы. Борцы используют специальную технику хватания за куртки («зодог» или «цээжнэ»), обязательные для всех борцов. В обоих версиях запрещены удары, удушения и заломы. Во Внутренней Монголии борцам запрещено дотрагиваться до ног соперника руками, тогда как в Монголии захват ног руками разрешен.

Одежда борцов также отличается в этих двух стилях. Борцы страны Монголия носят тесную прочную жилетку «зодог» голубого или красного цвета, которая закрывает руки, верхнюю часть спины и плечи. Эти жилетки традиционно изготавливали из шерсти, но в последнее время используются также хлопок и шелк. Традиционные борцовские куртки открыты спереди и снабжены тесемками, которые завязываются сзади простыми узлами - монгольские мужчины-борцы обязаны оставлять грудь открытой во время схваток, Согласно легендам, однажды борец, победивший всех своих соперников, расстегнул куртку и открыл грудь, которая выдала в нем (в ней) женщину. С тех пор борцам Монголии полагается оставлять открытой грудь, чтобы женщины не смогли проникнуть в ряды борцов. Борцы Монголии носят своеобразные тесные трусы (шуудаг) красного или голубого цвета, которые закрывают бедра и оставляют неприкрытыми талию и живот. Во Внутренней Монголии борцы не обязаны открывать грудь (что устраивает женщин), а одежда борца состоит из кожаной куртки (цээжнэ), окаймленной серебряными или медными пластинками круглой формы, пояса из разноцветных полосок, широких штанов-шаровар (шалбыр). Обуты борцы обоих стилей в специальные сапоги с загнутами носками («гутал»). Особо отличившиеся борцы надевают на шею цветные шелковые ленты («джангга»). В зависимости от количества побед борцы удостаиваются званий, которых их никто уже лишить не может: Аврага («Исполин»), Арслан («Лев»), Заан («Слон») и др.

В настоящее время бух баридах очень популярен в автономной области Внутренняя Монголия – как у мужчин, так и у женщин. Состязания проводятся в торжественной обстановке, по простой схеме. Количество участников должно быть степенью двойки: 16, 32, 64 и т.д. Переда началом схватки борцы исполняют ритуальный танец, имитируя движения львов, оленей и орлов. Если в самой Монголии женщины практически не участвуют в состязаниях по боке, разве что для развлечения туристов, то во Внутренней Монголии женщины активно и массово участвуют в состязаниях по борьбе.

Схватки по бохийн барилдаан обычно проводятся на открытом воздухе, за исключением дождливых и морозных периодов. Монгольские борцы не делятся на весовые категории, а схватки не ограничены по времени. Побеждает тот борец, который заставил соперника коснуться земли любой частью тела выше колен. Этот вид спорта требует отличной координации между движениями ног и туловища. Предполагается, что каждый борец выкладывается в схватке до конца.

Легендарная техника монгольской борьбы оказала влияние на другие виды единоборств, в частности, на российское самбо и китайское кунг-фу.


Источники

Women in Mongolia. (Женщины в Монголии)

Mongolian wrestling. (Монгольская борьба)

The Mongols and Princess Aiyaruk. (Монголы и принцесса Ай-Ярук)

The Women Who Ruled the Mongol Empire. (Женщины, управлявшие Монгольской Империей)

Ordos: Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. Video. (Ордос. Внутренняя Монголия. Видео)

The Wrestler princess show. (Спектакль "Принцесса-борец")

Mongolian wrestling. Video. (Монгольская борьба. Видео)

Mongolian horse races, wrestling and games. (Монгольские скачки, борьба и игры)

Girls Mongolian Wrestling. (Девушки и Монгольская борьба)


Девушки надели борцовские жилетки "зодог" задом наперед, прикрыв грудь, и успешно борются
Фотографии Ульрики Янссон

Mongolian wrestling

Видеоклипы


800 женщин-борцов собрались на ежегодном фестивале в Ордосе, чтобы помериться силами друг с другом



Монгольская девушка борется с туристской

Фотографии с сайта Girls Mongolian Wrestling


Борцовские поединки на фестивале Наадам

Naadam Festival

Mongolian wrestling


Девушки-туристки борются между собой в стиле Бух Барилдах

Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling
Mongolian wrestling


>> Национальные виды борьбы

>> Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства

>> Виды единоборств

>> История единоборств


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: