клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 

Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports

Canary Islands: Lucha Canaria

Lucha Canaria
Photo from the resource Red Social de la Lucha Canaria

Русская версия


Kids in Lucha Canaria Canary wrestling (Lucha canaria - Spanish) is an ancient and still very popular form of wrestling practiced throughout the Canary Islands (Spain territory located off West Africa). Lucha canaria is a highly popular sport (individual and team) for both men and women. Each team consists of twelve wrestlers that fight individual bouts in a sand covered circular ring. The basic principle of the contest is to upset the balance of the opponent making him/her touch the ground first with any part of his/her body aside from the feet.

The first indication of the existence of Canarian Wrestling was found in the Cronica from Alvar Garcia de Santa Maria from 1420, many years before the Spaniards conquered the archipelago. The "Poema de Viana" from 1604 mentioned some details about the Lucha Canaria of that time – like grab-techniques and the presence of referees. Lucha Canaria seems to be the oldest combative sport in which women actively participated.

Only standing grappling is allowed in this sport – a match is interrupted or finished if one of the contestants (or both) falls – no ground struggle. The most important skill is agility and even good manners! That’s why women and kids willingly practice the sport ennobling it. There are many clubs and teams in the islands including a women's category. Just as in Sumo, heavyweights of both genders stand high in Luca Canaria.

Kids in Lucha Canaria The wrestling-arena made of sand usually has a diameter of 17 meters. The whole Lucha canaria stadium is also called Terrero which you can find in nearly every town of the islands (in all 122 on the Canary Islands). These arenas fill up with up to 4000 spectators in important competitions.

Wrestlers start in the middle of a sand circle, called "terrero". The object is to make their opponent touch the sand with any part of their body, except the feet. To accomplish this, they use different techniques called "mañas" to throw their opponent off balance. Two falls are required to win a bout. A match ends when all the members of one team have been defeated.

Lucha Canaria wrestlers wear loose T-shirts and shorts covering their thighs but these are then rolled further up the leg. When two wrestlers meet in the center of the terrero, they shake hands as a sign of friendship, nobility and tradition. They initiate the grip by placing themselves face to face and each wrestler grasps the opponents right rolled-up pant leg by his/her left hand. They bend their bodies forward until their shoulders are straight together, at the same height. Placing the right arms upright, join the palms of the hands and lower them until touching the ground with the tips of the fingers. Once this sequence is validated by the referee, the referee will signal the beginning of the catch by sounding a whistle.

There are several theories about the history of this sport, but all of them agree, that the origin of the Lucha Canaria lies in pre-Spanish epoch of the Canary Islands. It is an original sport of Guanches, old settlers of the Canary Islands - they are thought to share common origins with North African Berbers.

There are three groups of Canary wrestling techniques ("mannas") – grasp, block and deflect.

Lucha Canaria has a lot in common with some other European wrestling styles - Swiss Schwingen and Celtic styles - Backhold and Gouren. As in Schwingen, wrestlers wear short pants made of jute over their clothes. The pants are used to grasp opponents during wrestling.

Grasp. A wrestler grasps any part of the opponent's body to try to unbalance and knock down the opponent. Usually, that’s achieved by lifting and dropping an opponent taken by waist, arms, thighs or feet.

Block. A wrestler blocks the movement of any part of the opponent's body using his/her own body to unbalance the opponent.

Deflect. A wrestler moves his body to deflect any technique from the opponent using the opponent's strength and movement to unbalance him/her.

Illegal Moves. Punching, hitting and strangling are not permitted.

Recently, Lucha Canaria became exceptionally popular sport and entertainment among Canarian girls, even in continental Spain. There are several terms of competitions: by teams, all against all, by weight category, individual contests, by weight categories or by challenge. The most common form, especiall in women's contests is team competitions - every team member wrestles sequentially against every memeber of an opposite team. Normally, the number of wrestlers in a team varies from eight to twelve wrestlers and there is no weight categories. As in any combat sport, heavyweights have some advantage, particularly in keeping balance, that's why there are seen many big wrestlers, especially plump girls in the teams. However, a skillful wrestler tries using opponent's momentun to help him/her to fall. As other 'standing' wrestling styles, Lucha Canaria attracts women as a sport and an entertainment - much more that the wrestling styles requiring par terre struggle.

There is another ancient combative sport in Canaries - Juego del Palo - stick fencing, in which women actively participate.


Bibliography:

Round Town News

Wikipedia

Gran Canaria


Videoclips from Youtube

Super heavyweights

Lucha Canaria
Lucha Canaria
Lucha Canaria
Photo from the resource Diario de Avisos
Cesar Borja-ACFI PRESS


Lucha Canaria
Photo from the resource Who is talking

Lucha Canaria

Lucha Canaria
Lucha Canaria
Photo from the resource Red Social de la Lucha Canaria


Lucha Canaria
Photo from the resource Tel de Noticias


>> Ethnic forms of wrestling

>> Smaller peoples and their traditional and ritual combat sports

>> Combative activities

>> Combat History


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 

Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства

Канарские острова: Борьба Луча Канария

Lucha Canaria
Фото с ресурса Red Social de la Lucha Canaria

English version


Kids in Lucha Canaria Луча Канария (Lucha Canaria - исп.) - древний вид борьбы, до сих пор популярный на Канарских островах (территория Испании, расположенная к западу от Западной Африки). Это индивидуальный и командный вид спорта, которым занимаются и мужчины и женщины. Каждая команда борцов состоит из 12 человек, которые борются на песчаной площадке один-на-один на выбывание. Основной принцип этой борьбы - вывести соперника из равновесия и заставить его/ее первым коснуться земли любой частью тела, кроме ступней.

Первое свидетелство о существовании канарской борьбы приведено в "Хронике" Альвара Гарсиа де Санта Мария и относится к 1420 году, задолго до испанского завоевания архипелага. В "Поэме де Виана", вышедшей в 1604 году, упоминаются правила и приемы канарской борьбы. Канарская борьба - однин из старейших видов единоборств, в котором с давних времен участвуют женщины.

В этом виде спорта борьба ведется только в стойке и прерывается или прекращается при падении одного или обоих борцов - никакой возни на земле. Важнейшим навыком в этой борьбе является ловкость и хорошие манеры! Вот почему женщины охотно занимаются канарской борьбой, облагораживая ее. На островах действует множество клубов, в том числе женских. В этом виде борьбы, как и в сумо, особым почетом пользуются тяжеловесы и тяжеловески.

Kids in Lucha Canaria Борцовская арена, покрытая песком, обычно имеет 17 метров в диаметре. Стадион для канарской борьбы, называемый Терреро, можно встретить почти в каждом городке на любом из 122 Канарских островов. Во время важных соревнований на этих аренах иногда присутствует до 4000 зрителей.

Существует несколько теорий происхождения канарской борьбы, но все они сходятся в том, что ее истоки ведут к доиспанскому периоду. Это исконный спорт Гуанчей, древних обитателей Канарских островов - предполагается, что у них общие предки с североафриканскими племенами берберов.

Участники состязаний носят свободные футболки и специальные длинные шорты, которые закатываются перед началом схватки. Два борца сходятся в центре терреро, пожимают друг другу руки в знак дружбы, благородства и традиции. Затем борцы становятся друг против друга, захватив правый край закатанной штанины соперника левой рукой. Слегка наклонив верхнюю часть туловища вперед, каждый борец фактически кладет голову на плечо соперника. Правая рука при этом касается земли. По сигналу рефери начинается схватка, так что песок на арене буквально стоит столбом...

Луча Канария имеет много общего с другими традиционными видами европейской борьбы - швейцарской швинген и кельтскими видами - бекхолд и гурен. Борцовские шорты, надетые поверх одежды, за которые берутся борцы во время схваток, очень похожи на штаны, которые надевают борцы швинген.

Существует три группы приемов канарской борьбы (маннас) - захват, блокировка и отклонение.

Захват. Борец захватывает соперника за любую часть тела, стараясь вывести его/ее из равновесия и бросить на землю. Обычно это достигается подьемом и броском соперника захватом за талию, руки, бедра или ноги.

Блокировка. Борец блокирует движение любой части тела соперника, используя свое собственное тело дла выведение его/ее из равновесия.

Отклонение. Борец отклоняется так, чтобы использовать силу и движение соперника, чтобы вывести его/ее из равновесия.

Запрещенные приемы. Не допускаются удары и удушения.

В последние годы Луча Канария стала стала одним из популярнейших видов спорта и развлечения среди девушен Канарских островов и даже в континентальной Испании. Существуют различные принципы соревнований по Луча Канария: командные и индивидуальные состязания, соревнования по весовым категориям и вызовы на поединок желающих. Но наиболее распространенной формой турниров являются командные соревнования - каждый член команды последовательно борется с каждым членом противоположной команды. Обычное количество участников команды - от восьми до двенадцати, весовые категории отсутствуют. Как и в любом виде единоборств тяжеловесы имеют преимущество, прежде всего в сохранении баланса, поэтому в командах, особенно в женских, много полных борцов. Тем не менее, опытные борцы более лёгкого веса стараются использовать инерцию соперника, чтобы помочь ему/ей упасть. Как и другие традиционные "стоячие" виды борьбы, Луча Канария гораздо больше привлекает женщин, как развлечение и спорт, чем виды, у которых практикуется борьба на земле.

На Канарских островах существует еще один древний вид единоборства - Хуего дель Пало (Juego del Palo) - фехтование на палках, которым также издревле занимаются женщины.



Библиография

Round Town News

Wikipedia

Gran Canaria


Видеоклипы c Youtube

Борьба супертяжеловесок

Lucha Canaria

Lucha Canaria

Lucha Canaria
Фотографии с ресурса Diario de Avisos
Cesar Borja-ACFI PRESS


Lucha Canaria
Фотографии с ресурса Who is talking

Lucha Canaria

Lucha Canaria

Lucha Canaria
Фотографии с ресурса Red Social de la Lucha Canaria


Lucha Canaria
Фотографии с ресурса Tel de Noticias


>> Национальные виды борьбы

>> Малые народы мира и их традиционные и ритуальные единоборства

>> Виды единоборств

>> История единоборств


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: