клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Mud Wrestling Kusti

Kusti wrestling
Kushti wrestling in Dangal Ramjupur (Dharampur). Photo from Youtube Videoclip


Русская версия


Kusti (or Kushti, or Pehlwani) is an ancient sport of wrestling with surviving links to a history embedded in religion of Zoroastrism and Hinduism. *) Kusti is a synthesis of an indigenous Aryan / Hindu form of wrestling that dates back at least to the 5th century BC and a Persian (Iranian) form of wrestling brought into South Asia by the Mughals. The old wrestlers (Pehlwan) were kept isolated from women and were expected to devote themselves to building their bodies..

Currently, this wrestling style is still popular in many regions in India. Wrestling matches are played in the square dark red wet clay ground (or shallow pits), which is known as "Akhara" (Akhada). The bigger bouts attract crowds of 20,000 or more.

Through the ages, the Indian wrestling form has undergone several changes in both the nomenclature and training methodologies. The more prominent influences include the introduction of Persian nomenclature and western training methods.

In ancient times kings sometimes didn’t fight battles but sent their champion wrestlers to engage in a match. The wrestler who defeated his rival was supposed to have won victory for his king. Some of the Kings were themselves good wrestlers.

For centuries, men have practiced wrestling for body building as well as for promoting their social status. The technique of interlocking the arms, using the torso and legs to twist and turn the opponent’s body, and fell it, is difficult and requires stamina. It needs strength to flatten an opponent, when he lies firmly on his stomach like a rock. A pehlwan who has trained his body and built himself up by eating butter, milk and almonds, can defy the wrestler on top for hours.

Nowadays, the social status of women in India is unexampled high and of course they break into areas which used to be men’s privileges. Particularly, it is referred to the kusti wrestling.

Originally, mud wrestlers were highly prized fighters perceived to be directly descended from the great Hindu warrior monkey-god, Hanuman. Even today, kusti wrestlers are paid tribute - they may train in Hanuman temples, so the wrestlers can pay tribute.

Kusti wrestling is played in mud with an ulterior motive because for the Hindu mud has sacred properties, being a dry blend of ghee (clarified butter), rose petals and obscure medicinal herbs. Besides the sacred properties of the mud, mud wrestling attracts spectators by something else. Probably an opponent may be disgraced much more certain being to dragged in the mire. The spectators have stronger impressions too. After a wrestling match, washing off the earth, dirt and sweat off one’s body in running water is a special pleasure. **)

There are many modifications of kusti which names come from their legendary or real founders. The most famous are Bhimaseni, Jarasandhi, Hanumanti and Jambuvanti. The most attentions are paid to physical and athletic training of pehlwans. It includes hundreds and thousands push-ups (Dand) a day with sinuosity of spine (Jor). They are accomplished by leaning on both hands and legs; on hands and knees; on one hand and one leg. Numerous daily curtseys on one foot with the lifted other one (Baithak) are also mandatory. Such exercises are often accomplished with heavy stone rings putting on neck or with partners sitting on the shoulders.

The objective of a kusti match is to take an opponent down and force him/her to submit using techniques of four main groups. The first group includes holds and throws based on brute force. The second one includes holds and throws based on the inertia of opponent motions. The third one includes restraining techniques accomplished in order to make an opponent motionless or weakened. The most dangerous techniques belong to the fourth group – painful locks (allowing breaking extremities, fingers and even spine) as well as choke holds.

Before a match wrestlers grind the ground (mud) in their hand in order to secure better holds. A winner (Rustam) is awarded with a big wooden Indian club with carving and gold-plated decorations. The name of the winner came from the Persian epic hero Rostam.

Indian wrestler “Great Gama” (1898 – 1960) is considered as the most outstanding kusti master of all times. He was the Indian national kusti champion for many years. In 1947, after India had become independent, kusti was proclaimed a national sport.

Wrestling competitions, known as Dangals, held at village levels, have their own rules which vary from place to place. Usually, a win is awarded by decision from the panel of judges or by knockout, stoppage or submission. In fact, kusti is a form of submission wrestling because the wrestlers compete until one of them capitulates or is unable to continue.

The town of Kolhapur (400.000 inhabitants) is the main center of Kusti in India. If America is crazy about boxing, the Kolhapur city is famous for its wrestling.

This former exclusive men’s sport have given rise to the popular world wide entertainment and sport – “mud wrestling”, in which the majority of participants are women.

The legendary Pro Wrestling promoter Paul Boesch is credited with the invention of mud wrestling being a modification of the ancient sport of kusti. It first became popular in the United States in the 1980's, and later spread worldwide. Although originally performed in bars, nightclubs, and strip clubs, mud wrestling is now a mainstream to the point where organizations have staged mud wrestling events everywhere – from parks to stadiums - for fun, competitions and charity.

Nevertheless, contemporary mud wrestling is not just “saucy, scantily clad women splashing around while gangs of drunken men drool like idiots.” Some mud wrestling competitions are real contests. This entertainment has become a real international competitive sport for women - even "World Bikini Mud Wrestling Championships" are held on the regular basis. In India, some women began training and practicing real kusti which requires strength and stamina. Unlike men who wrestle just in short boxers, women cover their bodies when wrestling.

Kusti is a prototype of several related wrestling forms, in which one athlete struggles against a few opponents. These techniques are widely used in the game of kabaddi, very popular in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Kabaddi is a team sport where in certain situations a player (players) should immobilize an opponent and keep him/her from fleeing. To accomplish this, techniques adopted from kusti are evolved -- the single leg, double leg, body lock, sprawl, hip-heist all the pins, etc. The similarity between kabaddi grappling with kusti matches is deepened by the fact that kabaddi is played on earthen arenas and players actually wrestle in dirt/mud like kusti wrestler do.


*) Kushti or Kusti, also spelled as Koshti, is the sacred girdle worn (along with the shirt Sedreh) by Zoroastrians around their waists.

**) Another variation of wrestling in a substance is oil wrestling "Yagly gures", which is a very popular and traditional sport in Turkey.


References

Functional Hand Strength
FemFight 2006
Photoshelter


Kusti wrestling
Udaipur Women Wrestlers. Photo from Udaipur Times

Kusti
Men's Kusti. From Herald Sun


Episodes with women's Kusti


Kusti Mud wrestling
Rajiv Gandhi memorial wrestling in Delhi. Photo by Manit/DNA. DNA

Kusti Mud wrestling
Photo from Youtube Videoclip

Kusti Mud wrestling
Photo from Sulekha

Kusti Mud wrestling
Kushti Kangal championship. Women 70kg. Photo from Udaipur Times

Kusti Mud wrestling
Photo from The Hindu


Mud wrestling
Women wrestle in mud
Photo from Every Miles A Memory


Kusti wrestling
Men wrestle Kusti in mud
Photo from Totally Cool Pix


Kabaddi
Kusti wrestling techniques in kabaddi games

Mud wrestling
Two girls compete at the World Bikini Mud Wrestling final in Haikou, China, 2010
Photo from Sina English


Men and women wrestle in mud


Mud wrestling
Photo from Oscar Lewis Web Blog Mud wrestling
Photo by Simon Booth-Luking from Flickr


Video Clips



Ram Akhara, a girl wrestler from Guru Chandagi wins



Kushti Dangal Ramjupur (Dharampur) Panna Organizer Mr Sanjay Singh



Wardha Women Kusti Competition


>> Combative activities

>> Ethnic forms of wrestling


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Борьба в грязи Кусти

Kusti wrestling
Поединок по борьба кусти в Дангале, область Рамджупур, Индия. Фото с видеоклипа на ресурсе Youtube


English version


Борьба Кусти (или Кушти или Пехлвани) - древний вид спорта, неразрывно связанный с религиозными ритуалами Зороастризма и Индуизма. *) Кусти представляет собой синтез местного вида борьбы древних арийских и индусских племен (история которых восходит к пятому веку до нашей эры) и персидского (иранского) стиля борьбы, принесенного в Южную Азию во время правления Великих Моголов. Старые борцы (пехлваны) жили изолированно от женщин и должны были целиком посвящать себя совершенствованию своего тела..

В настоящее время этот стиль борьбы по-прежнему популярен во многих регионах Индии. Борцовские состязания ведутся на квадратных влажных глиняных площадках (или неглубокоих ямах) "акара" (или акада). Самые важные состязания привлекают до двадцати тысяч зрителей и больше.

В течение столетий стили индийской борьбы претерпели изменения - как в правилах и установлениях, так и в методиках тренировок. Наибольшее влияние оказали персидские установки для борьбы и западные методы тренировок.

В древности короли иногда отказывались от вооруженных битв с противником, а вместо этого посылали сильнейших борцов против борцов враждебного лагеря. Борец, сумевший победить соперника, приносил победу своему королю. Некоторые короли сами были хорошими борцами.

В течение столетий мужчины занимались борьбой для телесного совершенствования и утверждения социального статуса. Приемы сцепления рук, использование торса и ног, закручивания, перевороты и броски технически трудны и требуют большой выносливости. Например, требуется большая сила, чтобы перевернуть на спину соперника, лежащего на животе. Пехлваны усиленно тренировались и придерживались специальной диеты, включающей в себя масло, молоко и миндальный орех. Они развивали огромную выностливость позволявшую им бороться в течение нескольких часов.

В настоящее время, социальный статус женщин в Индии беспрецедентно высок, и естественно, они вторгаются в области, когда-то бывшие привилегией мужчин, в том числе, это относится к борьбе кусти.

Первоначально борцы в грязи составляли привилегированную группу, считалось, что они происходят от индуисского обезьяноподобного божества войны Ханумана. Даже в нынешние времена борцы кусти пользуются особым почетом, и им отводятся для тренировок храмы Ханумана.

Борьба кусти неспроста ведется в грязи, поскольку у индусов считается, что грязь обладает сакральными (священными) свойствами; в нее добавляют осветленное масло, лепестки розы и целительные травы. Помимо сакральных свойств самой грязи, борьба в грязи видимо привлекает зрителей и борцов еще чем-то. Возможно, в грязи можно вернее посрамить соперника, перепачкав его, да и зрителям больше сильных впечатлений. После борцовской схватки особое удовольствие смыть с тела землю, грязь и пот. **)

Существует много школ кусти, названия которых происходят от имен их легендарных или реальных основателей. Самые известные среди них три: Бхимасени, Джарасандхи, Хануманти и Джамбуванти. В тренировке пехлванов главное внимание уделяется общефизической и атлетической подготовке. Она включает в себя сотни и тысячи отжиманий (данд) с волнообразным движением позвоночника (джор), выполняемых ежедневно, с опорой на обе руки и ноги, на руки и колени, на обе руки и одну ногу, на пальцах, на одну руку и одну ногу в положении на боку. Точно также обязательными являются многочисленные ежедневные приседания (байтхак) на одной ноге с вытянутой другой. Приседания часто выполняются с тяжелым каменным кольцом, надетым на шею или с партнером, сидящим на плечах.

Цель схватки в кусти сводится к тому; чтобы повалить противника и заставить его/ее сдаться, используя приемы четырех основных типов. Первый тип - это захваты и броски, основанные на использовании грубой силы. Второй - захваты и броски, основанные на использовании инерции движений противника. Третий - приемы обездвиживания и ослабления противника. Наиболее опасны приемы четвертого типа - болевые замки (позволяющие ломать конечности, пальцы и даже позвоночник), а также удушающие захваты.

Перед поединком борцы растирают землю в ладонях, чтобы обеспечить лучший захват. Чемпиона (“Рустама”) награждают большой деревянной булавой, покрытой позолотой, с резьбой и украшениями. Название титула победителя восходит к имени легендарного героя персидского эпоса Рустама, могучего богатыря.

Одним из самых выдающихся мастеров кусти считался “Великий Гама” (1878— 1960), на протяжении многих лет обладавший званием всеиндийского чемпиона. В 1947 году, когда Индия стала независимой, кусти объявили национальным видом спорта.

Борцовские состязания, известные как дангалы, проводятся на уровне деревень, причем, правила в каждом месте - свои. Обычно победитель определяется по решению коллегии судей или в результате нокаута, остановки поединка или капитуляции. Борьба кусти по-существу ведется по правилам борьбы сабмиш - до капитуляции одного из соперников или невозможности его/ее продолжать поединок.

Город Колхапур (450 тысяч жителей) считается главным центром борьбы кусти в Индии. Если в Америке сумасшедшим успехом пользуется бокс, то Колхапур знаменит борцами кусти.

Этот, когда-то исключительно мужской вид спорта, породил популярнейшее в настоящее время во всем мире развлечение и спорт - “борьба в грязи”, в которой большинство борцов - женщины.

Изобретателем борьбы в грязи, этой западной версии стариной борьбы кусти, считается легендарный промоутер профессионального реслинга Пол Бойш. Борьба в грязи получила широкое распространение в США в 1980-е годы, после чего разошлась по миру. Хотя поначалу схватки в грязи устраивали в барах, ночных клубах и стриптизных, в настоящее время поединки проводятся в самых различных местах - от парков до стадионов - для развлечения, соревнования и благотворительности.

Тем не менее, современная борьба в грязи - это не только "бестыжие раздетые женщины, которые плескаются перед пьяными мужиками, пускающими слюни как идиоты". Некоторые соревнования по женской борьбе в грязи - это настоящая борьба. Борьба в грязи превратилась в реальный соревновательный вид спорта - со своими чемпионатами мира. В Индии некоторые женщины стали тренироваться и состязаться в настоящей древней борьбе кусти, требующей силы и выносливости. В отличие от мужчин, которые борются в трусиках, женщины борются в более закрытой униформе.

Кусти явилась также источником или основой нескольких связанных с ней видов борьбы, в которых один атлет отбивается от группы соперников. Эта форма состязаний используется в широко популярной в Индии, Пакистане и Бангладеш командной игры кабадди.Однако опасные приемы четвертого типа (болевые замки и удушения). здесь запрещены, это своего рода атлетическая игра, немного напоминающая регби, только без мяча. В некоторых ситуациях кабадди игроку (игрокам) необходимо обездвижить соперника и не дать ему/ей вырваться; для этого используется техника кусти: захват ноги, захват двух ног, захват корпуса, растяжка, захват за бедра, туше и т.п. Аналогия схваток в каббади с борьбой кусти усиливается тем фактом, что в каббади играют на грязной земляной площадке, и если борются, то борются в грязи, так же как реальные борцы кусти.


*) Кушти (или Кусти, или Кошти) - священный пояс, который (наряду с рубахой Сэдрэ) носят зороастрийцы.

**) Другой вид борьбы в субстанциях - борьба в масле “Яглы-Гюреш” - очень популярна в Турции.


Kusti wrestling
Женская борьба в Удайпуре. Фото с сайта Udaipur Times

Kusti
Мужская борьба Кусти.
С сайта Herald Sun


Эпизода женских схваток по кусти


Kusti Mud wrestling
Борьба на турнире имени Раджива Ганди, Дели. Фото Manit/DNA. DNA

Kusti Mud wrestling
Фото с сайта Youtube Videoclip

Kusti Mud wrestling
Фото с сайта Sulekha

Kusti Mud wrestling
Чемпионат Кангала по Кусти. Категория 70кг.
Фото с сайта Udaipur Times

Kusti Mud wrestling
Фото с сайта The Hindu

Основные ссылки

Functional Hand Strength
FemFight 2006
Photoshelter


Mud wrestling
Женщины борются в грязи
Photo from Every Miles A Memory


Kusti wrestling
Мужчины борются в грязи в стиле Кусти
Photo from Totally Cool Pix


Kabaddi
Использование технику кусти в игре каббади

Mud wrestling
Финал на чемпионате мира по борьбе в грязи в бикини. Хайкоу, Китай, 2010г.
Photo from Sina English


Мужчины и женщины борются в грязи


Mud wrestling
Фото с сайта Oscar Lewis Web Blog Mud wrestling
Фото Саймона Бут-Лакинга с сайта Flickr


Видеоклипы



Юная Рам Акхара из клуба "Нуру Чандаги" победила свою соперницу в схватке по кусти



Борьба кусти в Дангале, область Рамджупур



Женская борьба кусти в Вардхе


>> Виды единоборств

>> Национальные виды борьбы


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: