клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Self-determined fighting

Recreational and self-organized wrestling/grappling

Self-determined fighting
Two heaviest and strongest girls in the town Natasha (left) and Tish
are matching strength with each other in front of local fans
Photo from "YouTube"
Natasha vs. Tish           Natasha vs. Tish

Русская версия


Self-determined fighting or recreational wrestling (in particular cases it is private wrestling) - wrestling activities organized by individuals or small groups on their own terms, acting independently of any mainstream organizations, teams or companies. This kind of sport or recreational activity might be called amateur but this world is already taken for non-profit but officially organized sports.

Woman vs. woman self-determined wrestling matches can be held in public or privately. In fact, many form of wrestling for fun can be qulified as self-determined wrestling (like folk combative amusements: fungrappling, beach romping, and so on). However, we consider here only contests which are held according cernain predefined rules which participants strive for the victory after all. In other words, self-determined fighting/wrestling has a substantial athletic competitive component.

Two forms of the amateur recreational wrestling can be noticed: submission and traditional forms - until the pin of the fall.

The main reasons women engage in wrestling contests with each other are:
- Interest in the sport of wrestling;
- Athletic training and fitness;
- Bravado or energy excess;
- Strengthening and improving the position in the society;
- Just determination who is stronger;
- Proving superiority over an opponent or rival;
- Kind of a duel for solving personal issues;
- Amusing an audience, particularly husbands or boy-friends;
- Staggering and attracting men.

Self-determined fighting
Girls drived to a deserted beach to test their strength
(in front of somebody who takes this photo)

If a wrestling match occurs privately, out of public eyes, so for ones who are not belonging to the participants, it's not easy to find out all details of such an activity. Fortunately, there are enthusiasts and mentors who help us to understand the motivation of women for these activities. The main source for us is the famous wrestling enthusiast and wrestling Guru Barbara "the Doctor" from New York. Thanks to her, we learned a lot of things we wouldn't even hear about. However, some aspects of this activity are not accessible for an ordinary person; on the Barbara's site, there is a special "Ladies corner" - in order to get there you have to pass an interview with Barbara herself. Certainly, we even didn't try.

This is how poetically Barbara describes feelings of a female wrestling beginner. "You feel an excitement you've never felt before. It's remarkably liberating. There are no tools to intimidate you, no balls to learn to throw or gloves to learn to catch with as a crowd giggles at your incompetence, no tennis racket that won't obey you. There are no evaluating looks from men you've just met that make you wish you could hide the parts of your body you're not happy with. No one can judge you on their terms. You compete, not with some unreachable game skills or against the measures of other's "taste" but with your own strength and determination, evenly pitted against another person not much stronger than you."

Self-determined fighting
Girls wrestling on the lawn

Actually, private wrestling also includes so-called "wrestling sessions" - pay wrestling sessions given by experienced female wrestlers or martial artists to women who wish.

For centuries, wrestling was considered as the men's only activity and women didn't demonstrate any significant interest in it. Unexpectedly, women turned out to love recreational forms of wrestling. Not only Barbara and wrestling mentors testify that women like wrestling but also some our female authors express great interest in wrestling (and even in street fighting). Whether or not someone likes it, this is a medical fact that many women enjoy participating in combative activities.

In 1950-s, bored rich American housewives having seen enough TV wrestling shows, started to entertain themselves with funwrestling in bedrooms. Rich ladies languishing of idleness in absence of husbands came up with the idea to wrestle themselves with invited female friends. Such entertainment was called apartment wrestling. They wrestled in lingerie without male witnesses. Perhaps, wrestling for fun as a women's pastime (world wide spread now) arose from that activities.

It would be a mistake to think that self-determined women's wrestling is always something like playful jostling on the grass - this is by no means always the case. Once a woman privately practices in wrestling on the regular base (as Barbara does) and gets an experience of fighting against others (including professional athletes), she definitely follows certain rules, terms and traditions. In her answers to FAQ by women who consider going into wrestling, Barbara draws up literally a system including many details: how to make a match arrangement; what to wear for it; how to start wrestling; how to overcome constraints and embarrassments; what techniques to use in different cases; who should be allowed to watch; what measures should be taken to prevent traumas (and if it occurs how to explain the circumstances to a doctor if you feel uneasy about that. )

Why a woman wrestles? According to Barbara, for different reasons. "Maybe just because of bravado or energy excess. Or in sake of a beloved man who asked her to amuse him (this is the common motive for a woman to wrestle another woman). Probably she realizes her ambitions or splashes out her emotions. Perhaps, she likes to feel her strength and ability to control over her body. Or she wants to prove in wrestling her superiority over an opponent. May be she quarreled with her girl friend (or didn’t share a guy) and they decided to have some kind of wrestling duel. Another possible reason: she wants to earn money. Finally, she wants to participate in the activity in which women didn’t participate for centuries; she wants to prove that women can successfully act in any human area. There are many stimuli including hidden complexes, sexual motives and even sadomasochistic moves. But the major stimulus is that a woman just wants to wrestle" (as many men do)!

Self-determined fighting is a whole world, some kind of blank spot, which haven't studied by psychologists, sociologists and sports experts. It happens sometimes: two women just have an urge to wrestle each other or to compete in catfighting (this happens too, according to Barbara) or even to engage in an erotic match (in fact, not just Lesbians like it...) The two go to a basement or drive to the country or walk to the ocean beach in order to find an appropriate place for the wrestling match. The traditions are still uneven: men can just go and wrestle in front of other people, whereas women are sometimes embarrassed and afraid of mockery. In order to overcome such prejudices, special clubs and schools are organized where women learn some combative and self-defense techniques.

Self-determined fighting
A motel is the place where such duels are often held

Many amateur wrestlers seek like-minded people but the only place we know where such activity is well-organized on the regular basis, is located in Germany. People who like this kind of activity (sport, entertainment, whatever it is) created in 1996 in Bavaria the private group "Rauftreff" ("Gathering for wrestling") where women, children and men are helped to organize joint outdoor games, where one of the key components is fungrappling. They maroon and friendly wrestle (or rollick in combative way), in which women and men participate - both married and single, as well as their children. There are no violence, brutality, and practically no pain in such wrestling matches for fun.

In case of self-determined wrestling, it's difficult to determine the border between an amusement and a sport (even though we distinct them in our classification). Probably, wrestling as a spontaneous amusement is the first step toward overcoming any complexes on the way to the real combative sport.

Friendly wrestling match in a gym
Friendly wrestling match in a gym

Some women who like wrestling and know how to wrestle might combine pleasure and profit making some money out of it. Some amateur wrestlers schedule meetings with other wrestlers in different cities and countries - they travel, meet and wrestle each other - in front of a few spectators or a cameraman who record the video for subsequent sale. However, amateur wrestling by real enthusiasts should not be mixed with matches organized or staged by commercial companies, selling videotapes. It's possible that girls working for those commercial firms used to be wrestling enthusiasts but you should distinct between these two combative forms (for videotaping and for enthusiasm). For instance, a philatelist or a book collector, who occasionally sell copies they do not need do not represent a bookstore or a stamp store...

"To wrestle as it's going but try to win" - the major principal of female amateur wrestling. Many self-running wrestling matches are fervent, quick-tempered, even though they might not be so technical as organized wrestling matches are. The most natural for women final of the contest is not a conventional position (like pin) but a "real sign" - submission - when the opponent gives in. That's why submission wrestling (rather than freestyle) forms the basis of female self-determined wrestling.

There are a lot of varieties of female self-determined wrestling forms – it’s women’s business whatever they want to do with each other. Where women wrestle? Everywhere - in gym, in a living room, in a basement, on the grass, on the snow, in water, on the bed, on the carpet, etc.) Once Barbara told how she was fiercely wrestling on the deserted night beach… Female wrestlers wear various forms of clothes: for more serious competitions it's some kind of gymnastics or wrestling tights as well as t-shirts, shorts, pants. According to Barbara, women wrestle as they want and wear what they want including bikini and even naked.

A special variety of female wrestling is so-called "apartment wrestling". Actually, this term covers different things: pseudo-contests similar to catfighting as well as (very rarely) women's wrestling just for fun. In fact, “Apartment wrestling” usually represents an erotic genre but according to the legend, apartment wrestling arose from fighting shows (like catfighting) when wrestling skills and techniques replaced scratching and hair pulling. In 70s a popular hobby cropped up among wealthy people - to hire women trained in wrestling to amuse family guests by their wrestling. They wrestle in living rooms (that's why it got the name), wore bikini which was difficult to keep on the proper places. About that time, rich ladies languishing of idleness in absence of husbands came up with the idea to wrestle themselves with invited female friends. Perhaps, wrestling for fun as a women's pastime arose from those activities. However, almost everything, which is usually called "apartment wrestling", is related to entertainment industry.

Of course, mixed matches also happen in recreational wrestling. Any man would barely refuse an offer to wrestle with a woman. In fact, besides wrestling skills, a woman might get some other pleasure. But this is beyond the scope of this article.


Self-organized and impromptu wrestling episodes


Recreational and self-organized matches from the resource YouTube


>> Combative activities

>> Grips and throws

>> Fungrappling

>> Folk combat


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клуб female
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
 

 


Самодеятельная борьба

Любительская и импровизированная борьба

Self-determined fighting
Фото из альбома "Jenny Miller"

English Version


Самодеятельная борьба (или, как частный случай, приватная борьба) - формы спортивной борьбы, организованные (на своих условиях) отдельными любителями или небольшими группами, не связанными с официальными ассоциациями или спортивными командами и не работающих в коммерческих компаниях. Этот вид спорта (или развлечения) можно было бы назвать любительским, если бы это название уже не использовали для некоммерческого (но организованного) вида спорта.

На самом деле, некоторые боевые народные игрища (вроде борьбы для забавы или возни пляжниц) можно также отнести к самодеятельной борьбе, но мы здесь рассматриваем только поединки по каким-то оговоренным правилам, в которых участницы всё-таки стремятся победить. То есть, под самодеятельной борьбой мы понимаем поединки с соревновательной спортивной составляющей.

Самодеятельную борьбу можно разделить на две категории: борьба до капитуляции и борьба до туше или до касания земли.

К основным побудительным мотивам участия женщин в самодеятельной борьбе мы бы отнесли следующие:
- Интерес к спортивной борьбе и желание в ней участвовать ;
- Спортивная тренировка и фитнес;
- Прилив избыточных сил и бравада;
- Утверждение себя и своего статуса среди окружения;
- Простое выяснение, кто сильнее;
- Утверждение превосходства над соперницей;
- Своего рода дуэль с целью разрешения персональных проблем;
- Развлечение зрителей, в частности, мужей и дружков;
- Удивить и привлечь мужчин.

Self-determined fighting
Девушки специально приехали на пустынный пляж,
чтобы помериться силой
(перед кем-то, кто заснял их)

Если самодеятельная борьба двух женщин происходит приватно, вдали от посторонних глаз, то людям, не принадлежащим к этому миру, нелегко узнать подробности. К счастью, существуют энтузиастки самодеятельной борьбы, а также наставницы борцовских классов, которые помогают нам понять, почему и зачем женщины участвуют в самодеятельной борьбе. Главный источник информации о самодеятельной борьбе - знаменитая энтузиастка и гуру борьбы, Барбара "Доктор" из Нью-Йорка, от которой мы узнали многое об этом виде женского спорта. В то же время, за пределами нашего обозрения остаются детали, скрываемые от посторонних; на сайте у Барбары есть специальный раздел "Дамский уголок", попасть в который можно, только пройдя особое собеседование с самой Барбарой. Разумеется, мы даже и не пытались.

Self-determined fighting
Девушки борются в парке

Вот как поэтично описывает Барбара ощущения женщины, впервые вышедшей бороться. "Вы чувствуете волнение, которого никогда не испытывали. Это вас заметно раскрепощает. Это не тренировка с бейсбольными шарами, которые можно покидать и половить с помощью ловушки - под хохот публики над вашей неумелостью. Здесь нет оценивающих взглядов встречных мужчин, когда у вас может возникнуть желание спрятать те части тела, от которых вы сами не в большом восторге. Никто не может судить о вас со своих позиций. Вы соревнуетесь, не применяя особых недостижимых навыков, и вас не оценивают некие судьи по своим критериям - вы просто используете свою собственную силу и решительность, противопоставляя их другому человеку, примерно равной с вами силы".

В принципе, приватная борьба также включает в себя так называемые борцовские сессии, которые дают желающим женщинам профессиональные женщины-борцы или женщины, имеющие опыт в боевых искусствах.

В течение столетий считалось, что борьба - чисто мужское занятие, а женщины практически не проявляли интереса к этому. Неожиданно выяснилось, что женщинам очень нравится бороться. Не только Барбара и приватные наставники по борьбе, но и наши корреспондентки свидетельствуют о том, что женщинам нравится бороться (и даже иногда и просто драться). Нравится это кому-то или нет, но то, что многие женщины с удовольствием участвуют в единоборствах - это медицинский факт.

В 1950е годы богатым скучающим американским домохозяйкам, изнывающим от безделья в отсутствие мужей и насмотревшимся по телевизору реслинга, пришло в голову развлекаться в спальнях, шутливо борясь с приглашенными подругами. Боролись в нижнем белье и без свидетелей-мужчин. Этот вид женского развлечения назвали квартирной борьбой. Вероятно, широко распространенная ныне приватная борьба женщин для забавы и развлечения берет свое начало именно в этих приватных поединках.

Не нужно думать, что самодеятельная женская борьба - это что-то вроде беспорядочной возни на травке. Далеко не всегда. Если женщина занимается самодеятельной борьбой давно (как та же Барбара), имеет опыт поединков с другими борцами, в том числе, с профессиональнами спортсменками, то она наверняка придерживается определенных правил, установок и традиций. В ответах на стандартные вопросы женщин, желающих занятья борьбой, Барбара выстраивает целую систему, в которую входят многие мелочи и детали, включая то, как и с кем договариваться о поединках, что надевать на поединок, с чего начинать поединок, как преодолеть скованность и смущение тем, кто вышел бороться в первый раз, какие приемы в каких случаях применять, кто может присутствовать на поединке, какие нужно принять меры, чтобы не получить травму, и даже - что говорить врачу, если травма все-таки получена, но неудобно сказать как.

Почему женщина борется? По разным причинам. Вот что утверждает Барбара. "Просто из удали, от избытка сил. Ради близкого мужчины, который попросил ее позабавить его (очень распространенный мотив женской борьбы - см. например рассказы мужчины и женщины на нашем сайте). Может быть в борьбе она реализует свои амбиции, выплескивает эмоции. Возможно, ей нравится ощущать свою силу, умение владеть своим телом. Или она хочет в борьбе доказать свое превосходство над соперницей. А может быть, она поссорилась с подругой (или не поделила с ней дружка), и они решили провести борцовскую дуэль. Еще возможный резон - подзаработать денег. Наконец, она хочет участвовать в деле, которым женщины раньше не занимались и доказать, что женщины могут успешно выступать в любой сфере человеческой деятельности. Много существует разных стимулов, включая потаенные комплексы, сексуальные мотивы и даже садо-мазохистские устремления. Но основной стимул состоит в том, что женщина просто хочет бороться" (как хотят бороться некоторые мужчины)!

Самодеятельная женская борьба - это целый мир, плохо пока изученный психологами, социологами и специалистами по спорту. Бывает, что двум женщинам резко захотелось побороться или посоревноваться в кетфайтинге (и такое бывает, согласно Барбаре) или поучаствовать в эротической борьбе (а это далеко не только занятие лесбиянок)... Они идут в полуподвальный зал или едут на природу или идут на пустынный морской пляж и там борются в свое удовольствие. Традиции таковы, что мужчины обычно не стесняются бороться на людях, а женщины иногда испытывают смущение, боясь насмешек со стороны посторонних. Чтобы преодолеть подобного рода стеснительность и предубеждения против женской борьбы, создаются даже специальные клубы и школы, в которых женщин обучают приемам борьбы и самообороны.

Self-determined fighting
Мотель - место, где часто проводятся подобные поединки

Многие любители борьбы для забавы ищут единомышленников, но нам известно лишь одно место, где их сумели объединить и организовать группу: немецкие любители этого вида деятельности (спорта, отдыха) создали в 1996 году частную лруппу "Rauftreff" ("Борцовская сходка") в Баварии, в котором женщинам, детям и мужчинам помогают организовывать совместные подвижные игры на природе, основным элементом которых является борьба для забавы. Они выезжают на природу и устраивают дружеские борцовские поединки (а вернее, дружескую возню), в которой участвуют женщины и мужчины - как семейные, так и одинокие люди, а также их дети, В таких веселых единоборствах нет свирепости, нет насилия, практически нет боли.

В случае самодеятельной борьбы трудно провести резкую границу между забавой и спортом (хотя в нашей классификации мы их разделяем), по-видимому, борьба для забавы - первый шажок к преодолению комплексов на пути к серьезным занятиям борьбой.

Friendly wrestling match in a gym
Дружеский поединок в спортивном зале

Некоторые женщины, любящие и умеющие бороться, сочетают приятное с полезным, немного зарабатывая этим умением. Некоторые из них договариваются о встречах с любительницами из других городов и стран, путешествуют, встречаются друг с другом и борются в присутствии небольшого числа зрителей или кинооператоров, снимающих поединки на видеофильмы, предназначенные для дальнейшей продажи. Тем не менее, не нужно смешивать самодеятельную борьбу энтузиасток с поединками, организуемыми чисто коммерческими компаниями, которые специализируются на съемках женских единоборств (или псевдо-единоборств) для продажи (главным образом через сети интернета). Не исключено, что некоторые девушки, работающие на подобные коммерческие фирмы, начинали как борцы-энтузиасты, но все-таки надо эти два явления (и вида женских единоборств) различать. Например, энтузиаст-филателист или книголюб, которые иногда продают дубликаты или ненужные экземпляры другим - совсем не то же, что книжный или марочный магазин...

"Бороться как борется, но стремиться победить" - вот главный принцип женской самодеятельной борьбы. Многие женские любительские поединки проходят азартно, задиристо, с огоньком, хотя с технической точки зрения они могут уступать организованным поединкам. Самым естественным окончанием поединка для женщин является не некая условность (туше), а реальная капитуляция соперницы. Именно поэтому не вольная борьба, а борьба до капитуляции (сабмишн) лежит в основе женской самодеятельной борьбы.

У женской самодеятельной борьбы огромное множество разновидностей (мало ли как двум женщинам вздумалось побороться). Где женщины борются? В зале, в комнате, на кровати, на траве, в воде, на снегу, на паласе и т.п. Барбара рассказывала о том, как яростно боролась на пустынном ночном пляже... Форма одежды у бориц самая разная: в более серьезных соревнованиях надевают что-то похожее на борцовское или гимнастическое трико, часто борются в футболках, шортах, брюках. Согласно Барбаре, женщины борются так, как хотят и в том, в чем хотят, включая бикини и даже голышом.

В некоторых случаях, к самодеятельной борьбе можно отнести схватки по "квартирной борьбе" (apartment wrestling), хотя это понятие на 99% относится к кетфайтингу и к псевдоединоборствам, а не к борьбе. Квартирная борьба - широкое понятие, в сущности, охватывает псевдо-поединки, близкие кетфайтингу, а также (в редкик случаях) борьбу женщин в квартирах для забавы. В большинстве случаев "комнатная борьба" - эротическое представление, но по преданию квартирная борьба возникла из шоу-представлений (кетфайтинга), в которых вместо (или помимо) царапанья и таскания за волосы стали применяться элементы спортивной борьбы. В 70-е годы в богатых домах возникло модное увлечение нанимать специально натренированных женщин с целью позабавить гостей их борьбой. Боролись они в гостиных (отсюда название борьбы), а одеты были в купальники, которые во время схваток удержать в положенных местах было нелегко. Тогда же богатым дамам, изнывающим от безделья в отсутствие мужей, пришло в голову самим бороться с приглашенными подругами. Оттуда возможно и пришло увлечение женщин борьбой для забавы и удовольствия. Но все таки, почти все, что называют термином "apartment wrestling", прежде всего относится к индустрии развлечений.

Разумеется, не обходится самодеятельная борьба и без смешанных поединков. Ну какой мужчина откажется побороться с женщиной? Да и женщина, помимо борцовских навыков тоже получит удовольствие (но это уже совсем другая тема).


Эпизоды поединков по самодеятельной борьбе


Видеоклипы с самодеятельной борьбой с сайта YouTube


>> Виды единоборств

>> Захваты и броски

>> Борьба для забавы

>> Народное единоборство


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: