клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Another female boxer died as a result of a brain trauma in the ring

Phindile Mwelase didn't recover after knockout

Phindile Mwelase knocked out by Liz Butler
Doctor Solly Skosana, trainer Stanley Ndlovu and a paramedic
attend to stricken boxer Phindile Mwelase before rushing her to hospital.
She was caught by a right-handed punch to the head during a bout in Pretoria.
Her opponent, Liz Butler, is in her corner
Photo from TimesLive

Русская версия


Phindile Mwelase Liz Butler Phindile Mwelase, 31, the South African female professional boxer, died on October 28, 2014 following a knockout punch by Liz Butler. Mwelase failed to emerge from a two-week coma.


It was the second death of a professional female boxer caused by trauma gotten in the ring - in April, 2005 Becky Zerlentes, 34, of Fort Collins, Colorado became the first woman to die from boxing match injuries in a sanctioned bout. Two more cases are known of female fighters died after ring traumas: 240-pound Stacy Young died in June 2003 after traumas gotten from her opponent, Sarah Kobie in an amateur boxing match in Florida. In July 2010 kickboxer Adrienne Simmons died after being felled by a fatal punch to the head during a championship fight against Lindsay Scheer in a Muay Thai match.

On October 10, aspiring South African light-welterweight professional boxer, Phindile Mwelase entered the ring for the fourth time seeking her first victory against 44-year-old veteran Liz Butler. However, at the beginning of the sixth round, she slumped to the canvas after Butler’s punch and never managed to get up from there. She was carried to a local hospital and had to be moved to the Steve Biko Academic Hospital where she was to undergo an operation to try and stop the bleeding in her brain. Subsequently, she slipped into a coma from which she never recovered. On October 25 at a hospital in Pretoria, South Africa, she died of the injuries that she sustained in the contest, she was 31.

Reuters quoted the President of South Africa, Jacob Zuma, who stated, “She joined a sport that is predominately male, and was proving that women can also succeed in boxing.” Of course, the president was cunning because Mwelase lost all her five bouts in the professional ring and died after getting punched.

Liz Butler was distraught about the outcome of her boxing match with Phindile Mwelase, while the young boxer was fighting for her life at Steve Biko Academic Hospital in Pretoria. "I am down mentally and grossly disturbed," said Butler. "I pray every night for Phindile to recover. It could have happened to me. It really hurts that she is in a hospital bed fighting for her life." Butler, a personal trainer, said Mwelase came to fight and win. "At one stage I thought she was going to knock me out," she said.

Her trainer, Charles Backhouse, who visited Mwelase yesterday, described her condition as sad. "Mwelase caught Liz with very good shots and Liz held her own in what was a very competitive fight. "If you look at Liz's face you can see she was in a fight. Every trainer wants their boxer to win, but not that the opponent must be injured."

The Sunday Times earlier this year reported that Loyiso Mtya, acting CEO of Boxing SA, had been accused of forging the fight records of local women boxers in an attempt to make them look sufficiently experienced for national title fights. Neither Mwelase's nor Butler's names were mentioned in connection with this accusation. Mtya denied the claims. He has since been suspended pending the outcome of an investigation.

November 1, 2014

Sources:

TimesLive
The Citizen

Phindile Mwelase vs. Liz Butler
Phindile Mwelase delivers a punch against Liz Butler in their fatal match
Photo from The Citizen


>> Controversy

>> Combat and Gender


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Еще одна боксерша скончалась в результате травмы головного мозга, полученной на ринге

Финдил Мвелазе не оправилась после нокаута

Phindile Mwelase knocked out by Liz Butler
Доктор Солли Скосана, тренер Чтенли Ндлову и парамедик возле лежащей на ринге Финдил Мвелазе
Её соперница Лиз Батлер, стоящая в своем углу, только что провела нокаутирующий удар левой в голову Мвелазе.
Фото из онлайн газеты TimesLive

English Version


Phindile Mwelase Liz Butler Финдил Мвелазе, тридцатиоднолетняя профессиональная боксерша из Южной Африки, скончалась 28 октября 2014 года после нокаутирующего удара её соперницы, Лиз Батлер. Мвелазе не оправилась от комы, в которой находилась в течение двух недель.


Это уже второй случай смерти профессиональной боксерши в результате травм, полученных на ринге. В апреде 2005 Бекки Зерлентес, 34 года, из Форт-Коллинз, штат Колорадо (США), стала первой женщиной, погибшей от травм, полученных в санкционированном боксерском поединке. Известны еще два случая гибели женщин-бойцов. В июне 2003 года стодесятикилограммовая Стейси Янг скончалась в больнице от тяжелых травм головного мозга, полученных ею от Сары Коби во время любительского пединка во Флориде. В июле 2010 года кикбоксерша Эдриенн Симмонс скончалась после падения от фатального удара в голову во время боя за чемпионский титул в стиле Муэй Тай против Линдси Шир.

10 октября 2014 года честолюбивая южноафриканская боксерша, выступавшая в первом полусреднем весе, в четвертый раз вышла на профессиональный ринг с желанием завоевать свою первую победу в бою с сорокачетырехлетней ветераншей ринга Лиз Батлер. Однако в начале шестого раунда раунде восьмираундового боя, после точного удара более опытной Батлер, Ьвеладе резку упала и уже не сумела после этого подняться. Её увезли в местный госпиталь, где диагностировали кровотечение в мозгу, после чего её перевели в больницу Стива Бико, где её прооперировали, пытаясь остановить внутреннее кровотечение. Но она впала в кому, из которой так и не сумела выкарабкаться. Она скончалась 25 октября в больнице Претории от осложнений от полученного удара в голову. Ей было тридцать один год.

Агентство Рейтер цитирует президента Южной Африки, сказавшего, что покойная пришла в спорт, в котором доминируют мужчины, и доказала, что женщины там тоже могут добиться успеха в этом виде спорта. Президент, разумеется, лукавил, поскольку Мвеладе проиграла все пять своих профессиональных боев и скончалась в результате удара соперницы.

Лиз Батлер была очень огорчена, узнав о том, её молодая соперница борется за свою жизнь в больнице Стива Бико в Претории после боя с ней. «Я глубоко потрясена»,-заявила Батлер. «Я непрерывно молюсь днем и ночью, чтобы Финлил выздоровела. Ведь такое могло произойти и со мной. Я испытываю душевную боль от того, что она вынуждена бороться за свою жизнь». Батлер, профессиональный тренер, сказала также, что Мвелазе вышла на ринг, чтобы победить. «В один из моментов она почти нокаутировала меня».

Тренер Лиз Батлер, Чарльз Бекхауз, который навестил Мвелазе в больнице, оценил ее состояние как прискорбное. «Мвелазе удалось несколько раз потрясти Лиз, на что Лиз тоже отвечала - это был очень напряженный бой. Если бы вы видели лицо Лиз, вы бы поняли, что она была полностью сосредоточена на поединке. Каждый тренер желает своему воспитаннику победы, но вовсе не желает, чтобы соперник получил травму»,- заявил Бекхауз.

Газета Санди Таймс сообщала ранее, что одини из руководителей федерации бокса Южной Африки Лойизо Мтайя обвинялся в подделке послужных списков местных боксерш, чтобы сделать возможным их участие в общенациональных поединках. Имена Мвелазе и Батлер в этом сообщении не упоминались. Мтайя отверг эти обвинения, но был отстранен от работы до выясгнения обстоятельств.

1 ноября 2014г.

Источники

TimesLive
The Citizen

Phindile Mwelase vs. Liz Butler
Финидл Мвелазе проводит удар по корпусу Лиз Батлер во время их рокового поединка в Претории
Фото из онлайн газеты The Citizen


>> Спорные вопросы

>> Единоборство и пол


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: