клуб female
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
 

 



Women on boxing shows

Boxing and women

Crowd Control: Boxing Spectatorship and Social order in Weimar Germany

From the "Histories of Leisure" edited by Rudy Koshar

By Erik Jensen



Русская версия


Boxing's appeal transcended not only class and social lines, but also gender lines. Women composed part of every boxing crowd in the 1920s, especially at the big professional fights that had established themselves as staples of the social scene. This female presence in the audience not only challenged traditional notions of proper entertainment for women, but also made boxing itself more socially acceptable. If female fans formed a tiny minority in the early years of the Weimar Republic, their numbers increased over the course of the decade. Alliebe im reliable attendance figures categorized by sex do not exist, some early accounts noted that only a few women ventured into the boxing arena. A 1921 article by Rumpelstilzchen stated: "is not for delicate sensitivities. Here and there one sees a gangster with his diminutive girlfriend, but men fill the rows of benches almost exclusively". Another of his columns, two years later, also noted the low number of women in attendance and inferred that the brutal nature of the sport frightened many women away: "has to say it again: it [boxing] is truly a brutal craft. For every 100 male spectators there is one woman"

Other articles from the early 1920s, however, registered larger contingents of female fans, and this attendance grew as boxing gained in both popularity and acceptability. A 1922 article from Sport im Bild, for instance, highlighted the presence of women at a boxing match:

And the eternally feminine! They are also here, some as coolly non-engaged spectators, because one simply must be there, some enthusiastic, excited to the tips of their fingers, lustful, inflamed for the slender one or the blond or the strong one. They are entirely absorbed and never take an eye off the fighters once they have … figured out what boxing is really about.

This article advanced several explanations as to why women attended boxing matches, including social pressure and the attractiveness of the boxers, referred to in the article solely by their physical attributes. According to this reporter, even the enthusiastic female fans arrived at an understanding of boxing only belatedly, and the overall tone implied that few women truly understood the sport's strategy or appreciated its technique considering it simply as brawling.

The suspicion that women watched boxing for reasons other than a high regard for the sport lingered. A 1928 article in "Sport und Sonne", for example, reported that even the female custodial staff at the arena snuck a glimpse of the proceedings in the center ring. The reporter suggested, however, that they watched the fight more for the social cachet that attending such a popular and socially event conferred upon them than out of any true enthusiasm for the sport: "was able to push myself between a small herd of cleaning women, who also wanted to catch a glimpse… [and] want to be able to tell their neighbors the next morning that they were there". In a 1925 article in "Boxsport", Erwin Petzall analyzed the kinds of women who attended boxing. The wives of boxers, managers, and fans constituted one category, a reflection of the fact that many women attended boxing matches with a male escort, and usually at his behest. Indeed, an ideal evening for upperclass couples often included a visit to the fights. In the 1928 Fritz Lang film, Spione (Spies), the two main characters enjoyed a date at the fights, along with table after table of similarly elegant couples, all of them dressed in tuxedos and evening gowns.

Petzall underscored the presence of many independent women, as well, those who attended either on their own or in the company of other women. Actresses and artists constituted a notable part of this category, a further indication of the popularity of boxing within the cultural circles of 1920s Berlin. Even workingclass women, though, occasionally went to the fights alone. A 1924 column described a scene in which a woman spent all of her money on a ticket to a boxing match and, upon learning that her small boy could not accompany her into the arena, sent the boy home alone while she hurried inside for an evening of boxing.

In his final category, Petzall placed those women who attended partly out of an interest in the proceedings, but equally out of sexual attraction for the boxers. "Sexual moments naturally also play a role with these women, who are moved by the athletic physiques of the protagonists". Many commentators invoked this image of the impassioned woman when describing or explaining female boxing spectatorship in the 1920s. Fritz Giese argued that women were subconsciously attracted to the hyper-masculinity of boxers, to their brute strength and raw force:

The women perhaps do not always know it, but the strong man and the boxer will always be the favorites of the unconscious feminine drive … The primitive instinct of the woman to detect love in masculine brutality… this and more influence the unconscious, primitive drive of the female spectators … and so women collect around the heroes like flies around a piece of sugar.

Giese's pseudo-anthropological explanation for female boxing spectatorship hearkened back to the "-instinct" of pre-historic women, but he simultaneously highlighted a very modern phenomenon, that of sexually liberated women objectifying and eroticizing the male body.

Liebe im Ring The motif of the woman enamored of boxers surfaced again and again in the popular literature and cinema of the period, as the Weimar media industry updated its staple romance lines with a popular and timely twist. Films, such as "Die Boxerbraut" (The Boxer's Bride), "Liebe im Ring" (Love in the Ring), and Knockout (not released until 1934) focused on the erotic attraction of the leading woman to a boxer. In "Die Boxerbraut", the heroine became so obsessed with boxing that her fiancae decided to pose as a professional boxer to ensure her affections. In the short story, "und der Boxkampf" ("and the Boxing bout"), the protagonist fell in love with a boxer she had seen in a painting. Driven by repeated dreams, she attended her first boxing match, where the presence of the two contenders (her "heroes") dazzled her. Both the film and the short story clearly presented their main characters as "Women" sporting bobbed hair and exuding an air of confidence and independence. For both of these stories, boxing represented not just modernity, but also a masculine world that these women breached, even co-opted. Interestingly, though, in both cases this cooptation proved only temporary, as the women ultimately recoiled from the violence and rawness of the sport.

As a flip-side to these story-lines of women's naive infatuation with boxers, another sub-genre of novels, films, and short stories took as its central plot device the seductive cabaret singer, actress, or dancer who lured the boxer away from his pugilistic calling or sapped him of his strength. In the 1926 short story, "und der Boxer" ("and the Boxer"), for example, a young seductress's advances caused an up-and-coming boxer to neglect his training and jeopardize his fighting career. The title itself underscored the feminine danger, alluding as it did to the biblical story of Delilah, who cut Samson's hair and rendered him impotent. The 1930 film "Liebe im Ring", starring Max Schmeling (great German professional heavyweight), presented a talented boxer who fell under the sway of a sultry society woman and nearly lost an important fight as a consequence. In the film, Schmeling actually sang about the need for a boxer to remove himself from the influence of women:

The heart of a boxer knows only one love: the battle for victory above all else … And once his heart beats for a woman, passionately and loudly: the heart of a boxer must forget everything; otherwise the next guy will knock him out.

Boxing commentators, and boxers themselves, regularly asserted that one could not box at peak level and have a relationship with a woman at the same time. After the boxer Rudi Wagener began courting a film starlet in 1924, Rumpelstilzchen predicted, "will gradually cause a weakening of his muscles!" In a 1927 article from "Sport und Sonne", the American champion Gene Tunney argued that women only divert the boxer's attention and weaken his resolve: "all of his thoughts and everything within him is not concentrated on his retaining his crown … he will necessarily make mistakes and will probably be dethroned". Many male spectators feared that women would inhibit the crowd, as well as the boxers. A letter published in "Boxsport" in 1925 declared, "want to scream and yell to our heart's content at boxing matches and not be restrained out of respect for the weaker sex"

According to some reports, though, these male spectators need not have expressed concern for the sensibilities of the "sex". In fact, some writers described the female spectators as more enthusiastic about the violent aspects of the sport than their male colleagues. In the same 1929 "Arbeitersport" article that criticized the blood-thirstiness of boxing crowds, Fritz Wildung noted the significant numbers of equally exuberant women in the arenas. In "und der Boxkampf" even as the protagonist grew increasingly repulsed by the match, she noticed other women in the crowd enjoying themselves immensely. "She saw the men's expressions, contorted with excitement and passion, and in the eyes of the women an expression that she had seen flare up only in Madrid at the bullfights".

In fact, commentators during the Weimar Republic noted a small, but vocal contingent of women at most matches who reveled in the violent displays and exhibited precisely the same behavior that boxing sophisticates had come to associate with working-class men and "spectatorship". Rumpelstilzchen wrote that many women, by nature, enjoyed a bloody fight, rather than feeling repelled by it:

The forehead of one boxer has been beaten and the area around the left eyebrow ripped open. His opponent already has a shoulder that was beaten bloody by the second round. A pair of young women on the main floor, block A, lick their lips in deep satisfaction. This is nature, not decadence or perversion … I cannot understand how men, who certainly know this cruel feline instinct, can drag their girls with them to a boxing match at the Sport Palace.

Here, Rumpelstilzchen contradicted some of his earlier comments from the 1921 article regarding women, boxing and "sensitivities" Instead, now he argued against women attending boxing matches not because it would offend their natures, but precisely the opposite - because it would arouse their natures and appeal to their basest desires. Contrary to the standard assumption that women would reject boxing after witnessing its true nature, the article feared that women would embrace it.

Other commentators also saw something in the female nature that drew women to the violent aspects of the sport. In a 1928 article in "Sport und Sonne", boxing elicited the repressed, violence-loving side of its female spectators. Just as in the short story "und der Boxkampf" the article invoked the bestial image of a bull fight:

The women… Honor the women… but not at a boxing match. There the superwoman steels her gaze; nature reveals itself as cruel, cold and lascivious … ‘Oh God, Hans, look, he's bleeding!!’ I look at [the woman who just said that] … I suspect that this woman has onlyone regret: that we still do not have bullfights here.

The woman described in this article wore an expensive fur and the latest fashions and clearly came from the upper class. Interestingly, reports generally characterized the women who attended fights as middle or upper class, whereas many of these same reports continued to portray the majority of the male spectators as working or lower-middle class. Commentators who decried male behavior at boxing matches attributed it primarily to the crowd's working-class origins. Descriptions of improper female spectatorship, however, attributed it to the nature of women themselves.

Bellows. Boxing
This is on George Bellows' opinion, what might happen if women sit too close to the ring. Painting, 1924

Due to the inhibitions and superstitions surrounding women's attendance and to the fear that the physical aggressiveness of the sport would either upset or arouse them, boxing associations in the 1920s often sought to restrict women's presence at fights. During a meeting of the "Boxsport-Behorde Deutschlands" (German Boxing Authority) in 1927, the council reminded officials not to seat women ringside at any fights. The minutes mentioned no specific reason for this reassertion of existing policy, but it probably aimed both at safeguarding boxing from the presumed deleterious effect of women on the performances of the fighters, and at protecting the sensibilities of women from the violent scenes visible at such close proximity to the ring.

A very few boxing commentators, however, took the opposite stance. Rather than seeking to restrict women's access to boxing matches, they sought to increase it. Erwin Petzall, in his analysis of women at the fights, pushed for greater female attendance, arguing that this would encourage better behavior on the part of the men and revive appreciation of the sport. Petzall essentially saw women as instruments in fostering proper spectatorship. Working from the prevalent assumption at the time that primarily working-class men attended bouts and that they caused the disruptions, Petzall claimed that women would tame these unruly fans: "very presence of the woman gives our sport the proper dignity, for her presence will contribute greatly to the disciplining of the male public". Greater attendance by women would not just make an evening at the fights more decorous, however. Petzall further implied that female spectatorship could change the nature of the sport itself. He noted that the introduction by the Verein Deutscher Faustkompfer (Association of German Fistfighters) of the six-ounce glove and soft bandaging at all national fights had reduced the number of knockouts and focused attention more on the technical prowess of the fighters. He estimated that this development would lead even more women to attend matches. This suggested the possibility that boxing federations would, in turn, respond to increased female spectatorship with further reforms in this direction - a gradual and market-driven feminization of boxing.

Petzall returned to the theme of class at the end of his piece with a direct appeal to the Bildungsburgertum (the educated upper and middle classes) among male boxing fans:

We desperately need women from precisely this social background [educated professional classes]. Therefore we must try by all means to win her for us. To our followers let it be said: bring your wives with you to the fights. They will and must learn to love our sport, the most beautiful that there is.

Womens boxing
Postcard "Women's Boxing in 1920s, Berlin."
Not women's boxing is ridiculed here as there was no trace of it in Germany at that time (except as in a burlesque). The cartoon makes fun of the very combination 'women and boxing': "The two awkward ladies look ridiculous in the ring as ridiculous women look next to the ring."

This article served the larger project of many boxing officials in Weimar Germany to attract and groom a proper spectatorship for the sport. In Petzall's estimation, the presence of women not only would subdue the unruly fans that he attributed to the working classes, but also would gradually replace them with members of the professional classes, Petzall's ideal audience.

Petzall's article certainly provided one of the most explicit calls for a more refined spectatorship at boxing matches, but far from the only one. His voice joined a whole chorus of commentators who criticized the conduct and composition of boxing crowds throughout the 1920s. In a similar manner to the "professionals" that Leora Auslander describes in her history of furniture design in France, these commentators saw themselves as both able and obligated to shape the behavior of a growing group of sports consumers. Although the criticisms of these commentators often varied significantly from one another, they shared a basic agenda that sought to solidify boxing's standing as a serious sport. These critics generally wished to purge the arena of its carnivalesque atmosphere, which smacked too much of American-style commercialism and a fixation on the knockout, and to encourage an appreciation of style, strategy and a victory by points.

The attendance of women received little support or encouragement from the boxing press, and its criticisms of female spectators reflected not only the traditional biases regarding women's natures, but also the growing anxiety over the increasingly assertive role of women in Weimar society. Even those few commentators who championed female spectatorship as a means of abetting the larger project of drawing an appreciative and well-behaved crowd to the big boxing matches played on well-worn stereotypes regarding the civilizing function of women.

The anxiety of the boxing associations over proper spectatorship represented a larger effort to keep the sport entirely legal and socially accepted. The danger existed that if boxing degenerated into a gladiatorial brawl, focused exclusively on the knock out, that municipalities might once again choose to restrict or ban the sport, just as many had done in Wilhelmine Germany.

More importantly, however, the anxiety over the nature of spectatorship at the big professional fights intersected with many of the larger social issues of the Weimar Republic. The lampooning of nouveau-riche boxing fans resonated with broader criticisms of the behavior of a new breed of profit-oriented business people in the 1920s. The debate surrounding women in the boxing arena mirrored the larger debate surrounding the emergence of the New Woman. As women achieved greater prominence in politics, business, culture, and even sports, social commentators grappled with these rapidly changing gender roles and sought continually to redefine exclusively male spheres.

Erik Jensen

January 2007


Boxing spectator
A woman watches a bout at Alf Weston's Boxing Booth at Newbury Fair and grips her handkerchief with tention
Pub. 1954. Photo by Charles Hewitt/Getty Images

JAMD


>> Combat and Gender
>> Fighting spectators

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клуб female
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
 

 



Женщины на боксе

Boxing and women

Управление толпой: Боксерские представления и общественный порядок в Веймарской Германии

Из сборника "История досуга" под редакцией Руди Кошара (по-английски)

Эрик Йенсен



English version


Интерес к боксу распространяется не только на различные социальные слои, но и на представителей обоего пола. В 1920х годах, когда женщины стали играть существенную роль в социальной жизни, они стали заметны и среди зрителей на боксерских состязаниях, в особенности на профессиональных боях высокого уровня. Присутствие женщин на боксе не только ломало традиционные представления о женском досуге, но также делало сам бокс более социально приемлемым. В то время как в ранние годы Веймарской Республики на боксерских состязаниях почти не было женщин, в последующие годы их число увеличилось. Хотя не существует надежных статистических данных о половом составе зрителей, все-таки очевидно, что на бокс ходило очень мало женщин. В статье Румпельштильцена 1921 года утверждается, что "это зрелище не для нежных и чувствительных созданий. Хотя кое-где можно увидеть бандитов со своими миниатюрными подружками, но ряды зрителей упакованы почти сплошь мужиками". Этот же автор двумя годами позже также отмечал малочисленность женщин, делая вывод о том, что женщин отпугивает жестокость этого спорта. "Должен снова сказать, что бокс - жестокое ремесло. На каждые 100 зрителей-мужчин приходится всего одна женщина".

Однако в других газетных статьых начала 1920х годов отмечалось увеличение количества женщин на боксерских состязаниях, что обьяснялось увеличением популярности и приемлемости бокса. Например, в газете "Спорт им Бильд" за 1922 год отмечается присутствие на боксерском поединке женщин:

Нигде не обходится без женщин. Да, они тоже здесь. Некоторые созерцают отрешенно, они наверное пришли сюда не по своей воле. Но другие наоборот, наблюдают с энтузиазмом, возбужденные до кончиков пальцев - сладострастно и воспаленно болеют - кто за стройного, кто за блондина, кто за крепыша. Как только они осознают, что собой представляет бокс, он захватывает их полностью, та что они не сводят глаз с бойцов.

В этой статье выдвигается несколько объяснений присутствия женщин на боксе, в том числе, их тяжелое социальное положение и физическая привлекательность боксеров. По мнению этого репортера, даже те дамы, которые с энтузиазмом наблюдают бокс, воспринимают его поверхностно, что очень немногие женщины понимают стратегию и технику этого спорта, воспринимая его просто как драку.

У многих возникало подозрение, что женщины смотрят бокс не потому, что их привлекает именно сам спорт. К примеру, в статье 1928 года в газете "Sport und Sonne" отмечалось, что даже женщины из обслуживающего персонала украдкой наблюдали за тем, что происходит на ринге. Репортер однако полагает, что они смотрят бой, потому что посещать такие популярные зрелища социально престижно. Социальный фактор для них важнее, чем интерес к спорту. "Я сумел втереться в группу уборщиц и убедился, что они хотели взглянуть на бой для того, чтобы завтра утром похвастаться соседям, что они присутствовали там". В статье 1925 года в "Boxsport" Эрвин Петцал проводит классификацию женщин, посещающих бокс. К первой категории он относит жен и подруг боксеров, менеджеров и болельщиков, то есть тех женщин, большинство из которых вынуждены сопровождать супругов не по своей воле. Действительно, для пары из высшего света было вполне пристойно провести вечер, наблюдая боксерский поединок. В кинофильме Фрица Ланга 1928 года "Шпионы" два главных персонажа наслаждаюстя свиданием на боксерском матче, причем показано, что за всеми соседними столиками сидят похожие друг на друга элегантные нарядные пары в смокингах и в вечерних платьях.

Петцал обращает особое внимание на то, что многие женщины ходят на бокс самостоятельно - сами по себе или в компании других женщин. Заметную долю в этой категории зрительниц бокса составляли актрисы и артистки, что свидетельствовало о популярности бокса в культурных кругах Берлина 1920х годов. Даже женщины из рабочего класса иногда приходили на бокс без сопровождения. В газетной заметке 1924 года описана такая сценка. Одна женщина потратила все свои деньги на билет на боксерский поединок и, узнав, что ее маленький сын не может пойти с ней в зал, отправила его домой одного, а сама поспешила на вечернее боксерское представление.

И к третьей, последней категории, Петцал относит женщин, которые посещают бокс частично из интереса к представлению, а частично из-за сексуальной привлекательности боксеров. "Естественно, сексуальные факторы тоже играют роль в привлечении женщин на арену, которых восхищает атлетическое сложение главных действующих лиц шоу". Многие комментаторы, рассказывая о зрительницах бокса в 1920х годах, описывают образ пылких женщин, охваченных страстью. Фриц Гизе считает, что женщин подсознательно привлекает сверх-маскулинность боксеров, их грубая животная сила:

Женщины видимо не всегда осознают это, но физически сильный боксер всегда является мощным подсознательным возбудителем... Примитивный женский инстинкт состоит в любовном влечении к мужской жестокости... которая и является подсознательной причиной возбуждения зрительниц [на боксерском поединке]... Женщины слетаются к героям как мухи на кусок сахара.

Псевдо-антропологическое объяснение поведения зрительниц на боксе, выдвинутое Гизе, относится к “инстинктам" доисторических женщин, но оно одновременно помогает обьяснить современное явление, состоящее в том, что сексуально освобожденные женщины более откровенно воспринимают эротичность мужского тела.

Liebe im Ring Мотив женского восхищения боксерами появляется снова и снова в популярной литературе и кинематографе Веймарской республики того периода - вокруг этой темы закручиваются романтические сюжеты. В таких кинофильмах как "Die Boxerbraut" (Невеста боксера), "Liebe im Ring" (Любовь на ринге) и "Нокаут" (не выходивший на экран до 1934 года) акцент делается на эротической привлекательности боксера в глазах главной героини. В фильме "Die Boxerbraut" героиня настолько увлечена боксом, что ее жених решает выдать себя за профессионального боксера, чтобы произвести на нее должное впечатление. В новелле "und der Boxkampf" (И боксерский поединок) главная героиня влюбляется в боксера, портрет которого она увидела на художественной картине. Увлеченная навязчивой мечтой мечтой, она впервые посещает боксерский поединок, на котором очаровывается борьбой двух соперников, "героев ее мечты". И в фильме и в новелле главные героини - это коротко стриженные спортивные женщины, демонстрирующие независимость и уверенность в себе. В обоих произведениях бокс олицетворяет собой не только современность, но и мужской мир, в который ворвались женщины (и даже стали частью его). Интересно отметить, что в обоих случаях это вхождение в мужской мир бокса было временным - до тех пор пока женщин не отвратили жестокость и грубость этого спорта.

В противоположность этим сюжетам о женщинах, наивно одержимых боксерами, центральными персонажами другого жанра романов, кинофильмов и новелл являлись соблазнительные певицы, актрисы или танцовщицы, которые сбивали боксеров с их кулачного пути и истощали их силы. Например, в новелле 1926 года "und der Boxer" (и боксер) молодая соблазнительная актриска завлекает в свои сети восходящую звезду бокса, в результате чего тот пропускает тренировки и ставит под удар свою боксерскую карьеру. Само название подчеркивает опасность влияния женщины, намекая на библейскую историю о Далиле, которая остригла волосы богатырю Самсону, сделав его немощным. В фильме 1920 года "Liebe im Ring" (Любовь на ринге), в котором главного героя играет великий немецкий боксер-тяжеловес Макс Шмелинг показан талантливый боксер, попавший под влияние знойной женщины, в результате чего проиграл важный поединок. В фильме герой Шмелинга поет песню, которая призывает боксеров освобождаться от влияния женщин:

Сердце боксера знает только одну любовь: борьбу за победу и только ее... Если же его сердце сильно и страстно бьется из-за женщины, он должен сразу же об этом забыть; иначе другой мужчина нокаутирует его..

Комментаторы бокса и сами боксеры всегда утверждали, что боксер не может находиться на пике формы и одновременно иметь любовные отношения с женщиной. Когда в 1924 году Руди Вагнер стал крутить роман с восходящей звездой кино, Румпельштильцен предсказывал, что "это постепенно ослабит его мускулы". В статье 1927 года "Sport und Sonne" американский чемпион Джин Тунни утверждал, что женщины только отвлекают внимание боксера и ослабляют его: "если он не сумеет сконцентрироваться на сохранении чемпионской короны, то он обязательно совершит ошибку, и корону у него отнимут". Многим зрители-мужчины не нравилось, что женщины сдерживают эмоции толпы и самих боксеров. В письме, опубликованном в газете "Boxsport" в 1925 году говорится: "Я хочу орать и вопить от всей души на боксерских поединках, не сдерживаясь присутствием слабого пола".

Тем не менее, согласно некоторым репортажам, таким зрителям-мужчинам вряд ли надо было опасаться чувствительности женского пола. На самом деле, многие очевидцы считали, что женщины даже более яро реагируют на жестокие аспекты этого спорта, чем мужчины. В статье 1929 года в “Arbeitersport”, критикующей кровожадность толпы на боксерских состязаниях, Фриц Вилдунг отмечает наличие значительной доли яростно болеющих женщин. В новелле “und der Boxkampf” даже главная героиня, в которой растет неприятие боксерского поединка, замечает, что другие болельщицы безмерно им наслаждаются. "Она видела искаженные от возбуждения лица мужчин и страсть в глазах женщин - такой накал ей довелось видеть лишь в Мадриде на бое быков”.

Итак, во времена Веймарской республики на всех боксерских поединках присутствовала небольшая, но заметная группа женщин, которые получали удовольствие от самого насилия, совершавшегося на ринге; они реагировали точно так же как болельщики-мужчины из низших слоев общества. Румпельштильцен писал, что такова природа многих женщин, что их привлекает, а не отталкивает зрелище кровавой драки:

Бровь у одного из боксеров была рассечена, а левое веко кровоточило. Его соперник в предыдущем раунде повредил плечо. Две молодые женщины в партере, в секторе А, облизывали губы от наслаждения. Это природа, а не низость или извращение... Я не понимаю, как мужчины, знающие об этом жестоком животном инстинкте, тащат своих подруг на бокс во Дворец Спорта.

Здесь Румпельштильцен противоречит своим более ранним комментариям 1921 года по поводу женщин, бокса и "чувствительности". Теперь он выступает против присутствия женщин на боксе не потому, что жестокое зрелище оскорбляет чувствительную женскую природу, а наоборот, потому что жестокое зрелище пробуждает в женщинах дикие природные инстинкты. Вопреки стандартному мнению, что женщины отвергают бокс, когда узнают его истинную жестокую природу, в статье утверждается, что женщин как раз привлекает это.

Другие комментаторы также считали, что в женской природе есть элемент, определяющий склонность женщин наслаждаться насилием. В статье 1928 года в газете "Sport und Sonne" отмечается, что на боксерских поединках выявляется глубоко запрятанная любовь женщин к насилию. Так же как и в новелле “und der Boxkampf”, в этой статье проводится аналогия с боем быков:

Истинная женщина... Женская честь... но только на на боксерском поединке. Ее взгляд становится ожесточенным, в ее естестве появляются жестокость, холод и сладострастие... ’О, Ганс, смотри, у него кровь!’ Я посмотрел на даму, которая это сказала... Я подозреваю, что эта женщина сожалела только об одном - что на этой арене не происходит бой быков.

Женщины, о которых говорится в этой статье, одеты в дорогие меха и в модные платья - они безусловно принадлежат к высшим классам. Любопытно, что в то время как репортеры отмечают, что зрительницы на боксе принадлежат к высшим и средним классам, в их же репортажах утверждается, что большинство зрителей-мужчин представляют средние и низшие классы. Те самые характеристики поведения болельщиков-мужчин, которые комментаторы объясняют примитивной природой низших классов, относят к самой женской природе, когда дело касается женщин.

Bellows. Boxing
Вот какая опасность подстерегает женщин, которые сидят слишком близко к рингу - мнение Джорджа Беллоуза. Работа 1924 года

Из-за существовавших комплексов и суеверий по-поводу восприятия женщинами боксерских поединков - из-за опасений, что физическая агрессия, присущая боксу, может расстроить или возбудить женщин, боксерские ассоциации в 1920х годах вводили ограничения для женщин, посещавших боксерские поединки. Например, на совещании "Boxsport-Behorde Deutschlands" (Дирекция боксерских ассоциаций Германии) в 1927 году, члены совета постановили, что женщин нельзя допускать слишком близко к боксерскому рингу. В протоколе совещания не объясняются причины этого решения. Вероятно, таким образом ограждались сами боксеры от расслабляющего влияния близкого присутствия женщин и оберегалась "чувствительность" женщин, которые могли бы видеть жестокие сцены крупным планом.

Тем не менее, некоторые редкие комментаторы занимали другие позиции. Они считали, что вместо того, чтобы ограничивать женское присутствие на боксерских состязаниях, нужно наоборот привлекать их туда. Эрвин Петцалл, в своей статье о зрительницах бокса призывает увеличить посещаемость боксерских поединков женщинами, утверждая, что это приведет к облагораживанию зрителей-мужчин и к возрождению интереса к этому спорту. Особый упор Петцалл делает на воспитательном эффекте для зрителей. Исходя из предположения, что преобладание малообразованных мужчин на боксерских состязаниях подрывает уважение к спорту, Петцалл утверждает, что женщины могли бы окультурить этих буйных болельщиков: "само присутствие женщин на боксе повысило бы благородство нашего спорта и послужило бы хорошим дисциплинирующим фактором для мужской части аудитории". По мнению Петцалла, значительное женское присутствие на боксерских вечерах не только украсило бы их. Он идет дальше, утверждая, что женщины-зрительницы могли бы даже изменить природу самого спорта. Он отмечает, что введение шестиунцевых перчаток и бинтования рук на всех национальных поединках приведет к уменьшению количества нокаутов и даст возможность сконцентрироваться на технических умениях бойцов. Он считал, что это привлечет на боксерские матчи больше женщин. Он также предполагал, что по мере увеличения присутствия женщин на боксе, боксерские федерации будут вынуждены дальше постепенно реформировать бокс в сторону его феминизации.

В конце статьи Петцалл возвращается к теме класса, прямо обращаясь к болельщикам из образованных классов (Bildungsburgertum):

Нам позарезу нужны женщины из образованного класса. Поэтому мы должны всеми доступными средствами стремиться привлечь их. Мы призываем болельщиков: берите своих жен на боксерские поединки. Они полюбят, они должны полюбить наш спорт, самое прекрасное, что в нем есть.

Womens boxing
Почтовая открытка "Женский бокс в Берлине 1920х годов".
Объектом осмеяния здесь является не женский бокс, которого в те времена в Германии в помине не было (разве, что в форме бурлеска), Карикатура высмеивает само сочетание - 'женщина и бокс': "Неуклюжие тетки выглядят на ринге нелепо, но не менее нелепо женщины выглядят около ринга".

Этой публикацией Петцалл стремился привлечь внимание официальных лиц в боксерских ассоциациях Веймарской республикеи с тем, боксерские состязания посещала более благородная публика. Петцалл полагал, что присутствие женщин не только смягчит необузданных болельщиков, которых он относил исключительно к представителям рабочего класса, но и постепенно приведет к изменению социального состава публики на боксе в сторону преобладания профессионалов, которых он считал идеальными зрителями.

Безусловно, статья Петцалла - одна из наиболее ярких публикаций, призывающих облагородить боксерское зрелище, но это далеко не единственный призыв такого рода. Его голос звучит в хоре голосов, критикующих организацию боксерских поединков в 1920х годах и поведение зрителей на них. Эти комментаторы считают себя обязанными и способными изменить характер поведения растущей группы спортивных зрителей. Хотя детали критики этих комментаторов часто существенно отличаются друг от друга, все они сходятся во мнении о том, что необходимо искать пути превращения бокса в серьезный спорт. Эти критики обычно призывали избавиться от атмосферы фарса, в которой было слишком много американизированной коммерции и слишком большое значение придавалось нокаутам - они хотели поощрить стиль, технику и стратегию борьбы и победы по очкам.

Пресса, освещавшая бокс, мало поддерживала женщин, посещающих бокс. Существовавший тогда критицизм в отношении зрительниц отражал не только традиционные предубеждения относительно женской натуры, но также и растущую озабоченность ростом влияния женщин в Веймарском обществе. Даже у тех из комментаторов, которые считали присутствие женщин необходимым для укрепления статуса бокса как спорта и облагораживания зрительской толпы, частенько сохранялись стереотипы относительно социальной роли женщин.

Опасения по поводу поведения зрителей всегда волновали боксерские организации, поскольку они хотели, чтобы бокс имел полностью легальный статус и был принят обществом. Они до сих пор опасаются (как опасались в Веймарской республике), что исключительное значение, придаваемое победе нокаутом, приближает бокс к гладиаторским боям и укрепляет мнение тех, кто призывает вообще запретить бокс.

Важно отметить, что опасения по поводу природы зрелища на крупных профессиональных боях, перекликались с другими, более важными социальными порблемами Веймарской республики. Насмешки над богатыми нуворишами от бокса отражали более широкий критицизм поведения деловых людей, для котоых единственным принципом была выгода. Споры о женщинах-зрительницах на боксерских поединках являлись частным случаем широких споров о возникновении "Новой Женщины". По мере того как женщины продвигались в политике, бизнесе, культуре и даже в спорте, они постоянно проникали во все новые и новые исключительно мужские области.

Эрик Йенсен

Январь 2007


Boxing spectator
Зрительница в волнении сжимает платок на боксерском поединке в Ньюбери
Фото 1954 года Чарльзя Хьюитта/Getty Images
JAMD


>> Единоборство и пол
>> Зрители борьбы

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: