клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Jousting contests at Medieval tournaments

Jousting
Female justing
Image at the margin of the manuscript Queen Mary Psalter (1310-1320)
From the article Jousting with Distaffs and Other Women Tilting in the Margins

Русская версия


Jousting is a martial game or hastilude between two horsemen and using lances, often as part of a tournament. The primary aim is to strike the opponent with the lance while riding towards him at high speed, if possible breaking the lance on the opponent's shield or armor, or by unhorsing him. The medieval joust has its origins in the military tactics of heavy cavalry during the High Middle Ages. These became obsolete during the 14th century, and from the 15th century on, jousting became a sport (hastilude) without direct relevance to warfare. Jousts were arranged by heralds according to the strictest ritual, and differed little if at all in different countries.

Jousting JoustingBefore the 14th Century, jousts were sometimes held separately from tournaments. However, towards the end of the 14th Century, the term "joust" was more often used in describing the chief events of the tournaments followed by foot fighting. By 1400, knights wore full suits of plate armor, called a "harness". In this early period, a joust was still a (martial) "meeting", i.e. a duel in general and not limited to the lance. By the herald’s signal, combatants would begin riding on one another with the lance, but might continue with shorter range weapons (swords or combat axes) after the distance was closed or after one or both parties had been unhorsed.

Tournaments in the High Medieval period were much rougher and less "gentlemanly" affairs than in the late medieval era of chivalry. The rival parties would fight in groups, with the aim of incapacitating their adversaries for the sake of gaining their horses, arms and ransoms. One example: when King of England Edward I was on his way from the Holy Land (1274), he spent some time in France, and was present at a grand tournament at Chalons. He was assailed by a knight, who tried to drag him from his horse. Edward was the stronger, but the other knight party tried to rescue the fellow, and the fight became so fierce, that forty-two knights and squires were killed on both sides. Really, a fine kettle of fish!

Jousting remained popular with the nobility both in England and Germany throughout the whole of the 16th century, while in France, it was discontinued after the death of king Henry II in an accident in 1559 – the king suffered a mortal head wound from a lance fragment and died from septicemia. Jousting was discontinued in favor of other equestrian sports in the 17th century, although non-contact forms of "equestrian skill-at-arms" disciplines survived down to our days.

Beside their armorial bearings, the combatants used many devices in honor of their ladies, or for disguise; they wore caparisons, a type of ornamental cloth featuring the owner's heraldic signs. To honor a lady, a combatant might wear for example "a red sleeve broidered with pearls", or he might choose to remain unknown and wear arms all of one color as the Black Knight in Ivanhoe.

There has been a limited revival of jousting re-enactment since the 1970s –as theatrical show, role games and even contact sport in which now participate not only men. This will be discussed later.

Obviously, the brutal medieval pastime of joisting was characterized by a stringent sexual “division of labor: men competed (assertedly, in honor of ladies), women watched.” In the light of these facts, the question arises – how medieval women were relevant to them except being spectators and a subject of honor? It turned out they were…


Jousting Jousting

manuscript page manuscript pageMedieval manuscript writers (usually, monks) typically used the margins of pages to gripe and sketch – not just vignettes and flowers but also contain-related illustrations as well as depictions of various unrelated scenes. Such illustrations often are invaluable sources for historians. Surprisingly, images of jousting women come across in medieval manuscripts; at that they usually compete not with familiar lances but with distaffs (a distaff is a spindle with a yarn spooled on it). In fact, the distaff also means a woman or women collectively or women's work. Actually, a spindle is a straight spike reminding a pike which usually made from wood used for spinning. According to old myths, the spindle is a symbol of fate and life, so women dueling with distaffs may be interpreted as a cultural symbol. At the same time, monks illustrating manuscripts could refuse to represent women jousting with actual lances considering that too provocative while distaffs seemed to be a perfect fit for women: feminine and easy weapon. On the other hand, although the distaff is not as effective as a lance, since spinning was a traditional pastime for females, they felt more comfortable with it.

It should be noted that medieval manuscripts often contained satirical and grotesque images, particularly ridiculous jousting riding bugs, fishes, goats, roars and also fighting snails.

The owner of the resource “Wendelkate procrastinates” (nicknamed ‘wendelkate’) and her husband have discovered several illustrations in medieval manuscripts and in museums depicting jousting women (with distaffs or lances). She is confident that there are plenty more images of women jousting with a distaff in medieval manuscripts, while the discovered ones were all she could easily find so far..


The oldest image of a woman jousting with a distaff available to ‘wendelkate’ comes from a French Arthurian romance from 1275-1300 (Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University)
A similar image can be found in the ‘Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Département des manuscrits’; it is also a French Arthurian romance, from 1201-1300.

Jousting Jousting

Another example from about 200 years later is an engraving by Master ES of a wild man and wild woman. This German print from 1450-1467 is in the British Museum.
There is also a monk and a nun jousting (not using a distaff) can be found in the French Arthurian romance. This manuscript from the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library has loads of other great images, such as this one, on 253r of a woman spinning.

Jousting Jousting

An ironic image of women jousting with distaffs riding on goats can be found in the 1381 French manuscript ’Queste del Saint Graal’, a section of the ‘Lancelot-Grail’ cycle. (‘Bibliotheque Arsenal’ in Paris).
A contemporary satirical image placed at its left depicting a knight contesting with a lady; the knight pierces the yarn heading her combat spindle.

Jousting Jousting

The 15th century ‘Chroniques by Jean Froissart’ from the French ‘Bibliothèque Nationale’, contains a caricature of two naked monkeys jousting riding a boar and a bear: the female monkey fights with a distaff
In the First English-Latin dictionary (circa 1440), the word joust (old English iustyng) was illustrated by the image of female and male centaurs jousting. Brunetto Latino, Li Livres dou Tresor, St Petersburg Manuscript, fol. 77

Jousting Jousting

The French manuscript ‘The Breviary of Marguerite de Bar’ from the British Museum (between 1302 and 1303) contains the image of a woman jousting against a man without a distaff. (There is a black and white reproduction in ‘The Role of Woman in Middle Ages’, edited by Rosmarie Thee Morewedge on page 176.)
The manuscript ‘Queen Mary Psalter’ from the British Museum contains an image of two women jousting with lances. This manuscript was written between 1310 and 1320 from England and was given to Mary I of England in 1553. (The title illustration of this article).
Princeton University Art Museum’s has a picture of a knight and a woman tilting. It seems to come from a manuscript from Maastricht, 13th-14th centuries.


What conclusions can be made out of all above mentioned?
First of all, it is obvious that women’s jousting or similar tourney style contests were not unknown in Middle Ages, at least in imagination of some people. It is also not impossible that female commoners didn’t hesitate to bring distaffs into play when fighting and brawling, while medieval illustrators (mostly monks) humanized those fights depicting them as chivalrous duels. A less plausible suggestion is that ladies sometimes engaged in real tourney jousting, perhaps, those who were familiar with warfare. As it was said, many manuscript makers might consider women fighting with combat weapons as improper, so they armed the contestant with distaffs instead of lances or spears.


Contemporary Jousting Contemporary Jousting

Nowadays, jousting contests between fully equipped equestrians are quite popular at medieval and renaissance festivals. The contests might be both non-contact and full-contact. Contact jousting became a combative sport and; women can be found among jousters competing in full contact.
But that is a subject of another story...


>> Combat History

>> History of Female Warriors


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Поединки в стиле ‘жюст’ на средневековых турнирах

Jousting
Женский поединок в стиле 'жюст'
Рисунок на полях манускрипта 1310-1320 годов "Псалтырь Королевы Мэри" (Queen Mary Psalter)
Из статьи Jousting with Distaffs and Other Women Tilting in the Margins

English Version


Жюст (англ. joust, фр. joute) - боевая игра, в которой участвуют два всадника, вооруженных копьем или пикой. Состязания в жюсте часто являлись частью рыцарских турниров. Главная цель участника поединка - выбить противника из седла, не упав самому, либо преломить своё копье о щит противника. В основе средневекового жюста лежит тактика, применявшаяся в тяжелой кавалерии в период Высокого Средевековья. В течение 14-го века тяжелая кавалерия стала применяться все реже и, начиная с 15-го века, жюст превратился в спортивное единоборство без прямой связи с военным делом. Турнирные ритуалы, сопровождающиеся герольдами, были очень строгими и мало отличались в разных странах Европы.

Jousting Jousting До 14-го века состязания по жюсту иногда проводились отдельно от турниров, однако к концу 14-го века термин жюст стал использоваться для описания главного события рыцарского турнира, после которого происходили пешие сражения. К 1400 году рыцари стали носить латы, которые называли “броней”. В этот ранний период жюст еще представлял собой “военную стычку”, то есть поединок, не лимитированный конным боем на пиках или копьях. По сигналу герольда бойцы скакали навстречу друг другу с пиками наперевес, после чего бойцы могли спешиться и продолжить поединок в ближнем бою на мечах или боевых топорах.

Рыцарские турниры в период Высоких Средних Веков были гораздо более жесткими и менее джентльменскими, чем в эпоху расцвета рыцарства в Поздние Средние Века. Соперничающие партии имитировали военное сражение, в котором каждая из них стремилась вывести противника из строя, чтобы взять побеждённых в плен, отнять у них оружие и коней и заставить платить выкуп. Один пример: когда английский король Эдвард I ехал из Святой Земли (1274г.), он провел некоторое время во Франции и был приглашен на великий рыцарский турнир в Шалоне. Во время турнирного боя отряд на отряд один из рыцарей противника атаковал его, стараясь стащить с коня. Эдвард был сильнее соперника, но товарищи этого рыцаря пришли к нему на помощь. Завязался свирепый бой, в которм полегло сорок два рыцаря и их оруженосца. Хорошенькое дельце!

Поединки по жюсту оставались популярными среди знати в Англии и в Германии до конца 16-го века, в то время как во Франции они прекратились после гибели короля Генриха II в 1559 году, когда во время поединка его смертельно ранили осколком пики в глаз, и он вскоре скончался от сепсиса. В 17 веке на смену жюсту пришли другие виды спорта, в которых учяствовали наездники, хотя бесконтакные виды состязаний наездников с оружием сохранились вплоть до нашего времени.

Помимо оружия и доспехов, бойцы использовали цветастые попоны с фамильными гербами и другие атрибуты рыцарства - либо в честь своих дам, либо для маскировки. В честь дамы сердца рыцарь мог носить красные рукава, вышитые жемчугом, но если он желал быть неузнанным, все его облачение было одного цвета, как у Черного Рыцаря из романа “Айвенго”.

Начиная с 1970-х годов состязания по жюсту возродились - как ролевые игры и как контактный вид спорта, в котором сейчас участвуют не только мужчины. Но об этом - позже.
Ни у кого нет сомнений в том, что средневековый жюст являлся жестоким видом единоборств и характеризовался жестким “разделением труда” между полами: мужчины сражались (якобы в честь дам), а дамы созерцали. В свете этого, может возникнуть вопрос, какое отношение средневековые женщины имели к этому мужскому занятию, помимо того, что являлись зрительницами и предметом почитания. Оказывается, имели...


Jousting Jousting

manuscript page manuscript page Создатели средневековых манускриптов (обычно монахи) нередко украшали поля их страниц не только изображениями виньеток и цветов, но и рисунками, иллюстрирующими текст или относящимися к другим событиям. Такие рисунки зачастую являются бесценным источником информации для историков. Как ни странно, среди рисунков на полях средневековых манускриптов встречаются изображения женщин, участвующих в турнирном сражении в стиле жюста. При этом, их оружием является не только обычные пики или копья, но и очень часто ручные прялки (веретено с намотанной на него пряжей). Здесь необходимо отметить, что прялка является символом женского пола, например в английском языке это слово (distaff) также означает женскую работу и воообще всё женское. В то же время, веретено, напоминающее пику, - символ жизни и иллюзией существования времени в древней мифологии. Таким образом, женская дуэль на ручных прялках может трактоваться как некий культурный символ. В то же время, вполне вероятно, что монахи, иллюстрировавшие манускрипты, отказывались изображать женщин, сражающиохся на копьях, считая это слишком вызывающим, в то время как веретено, напоминающее копье, казалось им более женственным и привычным для женщин оружием, которым им сподручнее пользоваться.

Стоит отметить, что средневековые манускрипты содержали немало сатирических картинок, в том числе, с изображением рыцарских турниров, например, схватки на жуках, рыбах, козлах, кабанах и единоборства с улитками.

Создательница ресурса о кройке и шитье “Wendelkate procrastinates” (под псевдонимом ‘wendelkate’) и ее муж обнаружили на полях средневековых манускриптов и в музеях несколько изображений женщин сражающихся в стиле жюста (на прялках или на копьях). Она уверена, что в различных средневековых манускриптах содержится намного больше изображений женщин, сражающихся на прялках, но она пока обнаружила подобные иллюстрации в наиболее доступных для нее манускриптах.


Старейшее изображение женщин, сражающихся на прялках в стиле жюста, найденное wendelkate, принадлежит французской версии сказаний о Короле Артуре, относящейся к 1275-1300 годам. Аналогичное изображение можно найти в другой версии о Короле Артуре в ‘Департаменте манускриптов в Национальной библиотеке Франции’ за 1201-1300 годы.

Jousting Jousting

Еще одно изображение жюста с участием женщины можно найти на немецкой гравюре, созданной на 200 лет позже вышеупомянутых, на котором сражаются дикий мужчина с дикой женщиной. Эта гравюра 1450-1467г.г. хранится в Британском Музее.
Поединок между монахом и монахиней (уже не на прялках) изображен в сборнике сказаний о Короле Артуре. Этот манускрипт содержит множество интересных иллюстраций, например, рисунок женщины, занятой прядением.

Jousting Jousting

Немного ироническое изображение поединка на прялках двух женщин, скачущих на козлах, содержится во французском манускрипте 1381 года ‘Поиски Светого Грааля’ (Queste del Saint Graal) из цикла ‘Ланселот-Грааль’, хранящемся в парижской библиотеке ‘Арсенал’ (Bibliotheque Arsenal).
Рядом приведен современный шутливый рисунок поединка, в котором рыцарь, сражающийся с дамой, вонзает пику в намотанную на боевое веретено пряжу.

Jousting Jousting

Во французском манускрипте 15 века ‘Хроники Жана Фруасара’ (Chroniques by Jean Froissart), хранящемся в Национальной Библиотеке в Париже, содержится карикатура, изображающая поединок по жюсту между двумя голыми обезьянами, скачущими на медведе и на кабане. Оружием обезьяны женского пола является ручная прялка.
В первом латино-английском словаре, созданном ок. 1440г., приведена гротескная картинка, иллюстрирующая слово “жюст” (joust; староангл. iustyng): “Кентавры женского и мужского пола сражаются в турнирном жюсте”. Иллюстрация заимствована из старинного манускрипта итальянского философа Брунетто Латино “Книга сокровищ” (Brunetto Latino. Li Livres dou Tresor).

Jousting Jousting

Иллюстрация, изображающая женщину, сражающуюся (без прялки) с мужчиной в турнирном жюсте, содержится во французском манускрипте Требник Маргариты де Бар (The Breviary of Marguerite de Bar), хранящемся в Британском Музее (датирован 1302 или 1303 годами). Черно-белая копия этой иллюстрации приведена в сборнике “Роль женщин в истории Средних Веков” под редакцией Розмари Морведж (‘The Role of Woman in Middle Ages’, edited by Rosmarie Thee Morewedge).
В манускрипте 1310-1320 годов, позже названном ‘Псалтырем Королевы Мэри’ (Queen Mary Psalter), который хранится в Британском Музее, содержится картинка, изображающая двух женщин, сражающихся на копьях в стиле жюста (титульная иллюстрация данной статьи).
В Художественном музее Принстонского Университета хранится картина, изображающая поединок по жюсту между рыцарем и дамой. Предполагаемая дата его создания - 13-14 века.


Итак, какие выводы из вышеприведенного можно сделать?
Во-первых, очевидно, что поединки женщин, подобные турнирным единоборствам в стиле жюст не были чем-то неизвестным в Средние Века, по крайней мере, в воображении многих. Не исключено, что женщины из простонародья не гнушались использования веретен в драках, а авторы средневековых рисунков (большей частью монахи), облагораживали эти драки, изображая их в виде рыцарского поединка. И менее правдоподобное предположение: дамы иногда действительно сходились в реальных турнирных поединках, возможно это были воительницы, участвовавшие в военных действиях. И, как уже говорилось, многие авторы манускриптов считали непристойным изображать дам сражающихся с реальным оружием, поэтому в им в руки вкладывали веретена вместо пик и копий.


Contemporary Jousting Современный жюст
В настоящее время, рыцарские состязания по жюсту между полностью экипированными наездниками стали весьма популярны - как вид спорта и как часть фесивалей Средневековья и Ренессанса. Состязания по жюсту могут проводиться как в бесконтактном, так и в контактном стиле. Контактный жюст по сути стал видом спортивного единоборства, а среди его участников есть и женщины.
Но это тема отдельной статьи...


>> История единоборств

>> История воительниц


Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: