клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Past and present of the Indian female combat

Indian women wrestlers
Women wrestling. Ancient bas-relief in Hampi Karnataka, India
Photo by Chatts from the resource Flickr


Русская версия


In the Ancient India, women warriors and wrestlers existed. Indian women have retained wrestling traditions through the centuries.

Women and valor

Durga
Belligerent goddess Durga

During Maurya Empire or Ashoka (321-185 BC) as testified to by Kautilya in his Arthasastra (c. 350-283 BC), women were the armed bodyguards of the kings. Those women who had good physique were selected for this job and were given good training in martial arts including fighting with swords, bow and arrow and wrestling.

The armed women body-guards were appointed to guard harem, in addition to eunuchs. The Greek writer Megasthenese who visited the Mauryan Empire has described the tall and sturdy women guards of the king. He has paid handsome encomium to the valour of these women. This practice continued even during the Gupta period (320 to 550 AD)

The personal valour and bravery shown by women becomes clearer during the Vijayanagar period (1336-1650). Many inscriptions (writing on stone) refer to the heroic deeds of women. Some of the foreign travelers like Domingo Paes, Fernao Nuniz, Duarte Barbosa, Afanasiy Nikitin, Niccolo Da Conti, Abdul Razzak, etc., who were witnesses to the valorous deeds of women have left graphic descriptions. The women guards were posted at different parts of the fort, palace and harem, and they directly reported to the emperor any unusual incident. They kept a vigil even over the officers and searched them if necessary. They always carried a small dagger, a long sword and a shield. Some of them had bow and arrows. Some of them were expert horse riders. There were at least more than one thousand of them.

Many of the stone sculptures on the walls of Hazara Rama temple and some hero - stones have sculptural representations of women soldiers fighting with swords, daggers, shields, bows and arrows. Unfortunately, their names and details are not known.

Emperors of Vijayanagar were great patrons of indigenous martial art, wrestling (kusti). In fact, the Dasara festivities held at Hampi included wrestling competitions. The wrestling was so fierce that some of the wrestlers got hurt and first aid used to be provided. Highly distinguished wrestlers of the period were Mallappa Nayaka, Bhimajetti, Ramajetti and Venkatagirijetti.

Women wrestlers

Now we may refer to women wrestlers. According to foreign travelers, women wrestlers used to show their skill in wrestling in private to the king, queen and the officers.

One of the visitors by name Nuniz, who was a special invitee, saw the women wrestling and was greatly impressed and stated that such a spectacle did not take place in his country nor the countries he visited. Fortunately, there is a stone record dated 1444 AD, at Shikaripura in Shimoga district, which gives the details of a wrestling bout of a woman by name Hariyakka. It also has a fine sculptural representation of the entire event.

Hariyakka's Story

Hariyakka
Ancient wrestler Hariyakka defeats a man

Nadanagauda was a wrestler (pailwan) by profession and belonged to the Jetti community. He had become famous in the Vijayanagar Empire. After his death, his son Madigauda followed in his footsteps. He had a daughter by name Hariyakka who was also a great wrestler. One day, a wrestler from the neighboring area arrived at Shikaripura and challenged Madigauda. The latter accepted the challenge and the wrestling took place between the two. Unfortunately, Madigauda was not only defeated but was killed in the fight and the challenge extended to others. Hariyakka accepted the challenge and the wrestling took place between a man and a woman. Hariyakka, who was a well-trained wrestler defeated her enemy in the wrestling and killed him with a dagger and avenged her father's death. This became great news in the entire kingdom and this was carved on a stone with a sculptural representation. It is interesting to note that in the sculpture Hariyakka looks like a pailwan whereas her opponent looks like a dwarfish creature. There should have been many more Hariyakkas during the period and archaeologists have to dig out women wrestlers from oblivion by fresh discoveries.

Prof. A.V. Narasimha Murthy
Former Head, Department of Ancient History & Archaeology, University of Mysore
OurKarnataka.
October 1, 2009


Popular women's combat styles in India

There are two main Indian martial arts being practiced by women: Kusti and Kalari as well as team combat game Kabaddi

Kusti wrestling

Kusti
Wrestling in the Mysoru Dasara festival, 2008
Photo from the album

Kusti (Kushti, Khusti) or Pehlwani is a synthesis of an indigenous Aryan / Hindu form of wrestling that dates back at least to the 5th century BC and a Persian form of wrestling brought into South Asia by the Mughals.

Kusti is quite similar to the contemporary freestyle wrestling. Its techniques are really the same with rules being the primary differences. Unlike freestyle wrestling which is held on the mat, the Kusti playground is a dirt area; that's why Kusti is considered a prototype mud wrestling, exceptionally popular worldwide women's game. The standout points of Kusti wrestling are the physical regimens designed to build overall strength, with the focus being on grip strength. One of the Kusti forms is ‘Nada Kusti’ popular in Mysore.


Kalari fighting

Kakari
Kalari practicing

The word Kalari means practice ground in Malayalam. The traditional training of Kalari Payattu, a martial art of Kerala state in south India, is always done inside the Kalari (literally, threshing floor or battlefield), which is a specially constructed practice area. Payattu means 'exercise in arms or practice'.

Kalari playgrounds have not also been used by the men, but for hundreds of years – by women as well. Long ago when their husbands, teachers and sons went off to the battlefield to fight enemies, young women were often left to defend their families and villages. Women were also trained in the art of Kalari to resist the invaders and highway men. Those who were from the higher class had a vast range of weaponry at hand, swords. Spears, equally those who were not used ordinary kitchen utensils such as a knife and vettukatti. Women from lower classes were more sophisticated in straight empty-handed combat.

The Kalari also had a place of importance in the system of education, which prevailed in the ancient Kerala. It is worthwhile to remember that Kalari has played a decisive role in Kerala on many a crucial occasions. It supplied the best fighting materials against many an invading hoarders.

There are many legends of famous women fighters such as Unniyarcha, a legendary heroine, who won many battles with distinction. Today, Kalari Payattu is a method of physical fitness, an empty-handed combat and self-defense. Yet, it is tied to traditional ceremonies and rituals.

Today in Kerala there are kalari institutions were young girls are trained in the hand-to-hand combat of Kalari.


Contemporary Kusti girl competitions. Videoclips

Kusti Kusti


Kabaddi

Kabaddi
Kabaddi game episode
Click on the image to see the video clip

Kabaddi is a team combat game very popular among Indian women. Kabaddi is basically a team combative sport. The Kabaddi court is divided into two halves with a team of 12 players at each end (only 7 on court at each time). The aim of the game is to score points by touching or catching the opposing team players. Each team alternate in sending one of their players in to try and touch as many of the opposition players as possible before running out of breath as they chant kabaddi, kabaddi, kabaddi... Once a player is touched they are out. The aim of the defending team is to grab the attacking player and hold him until he has to take another breath, when he is out. Each match has two halves lasting 20 minutes each. When a defender stops an attacker, a short wrestling bout often begins using kust-like techniques. In fact, Kabaddi is a sophisticated imitation of a combat between two groups (like Russian wall-in-wall fight but without blows and in more sophisticated way).


Belur woman warrior
Indian female warrior, Belur (Tan)
Photo from the resource Indian Study Abroad


>> История женских единоборств

>> История народных женских единоборств

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Прошлое и настоящее индийского женского единоборства

Indian women wrestlers
Женская борьба. Старинный барельеф в Хампи Карнатака, Индия
Фото Chatts, веб ресурс Flickr


English Version


В Древней Индии были женщины-воительницы и женщины-борцы. Индийские женщины пронесли борцовсклие традиции через века

Женщины и отвага

Durga
Воинственная богиня Дурга

Как свидетельствует Каутилья в своем трактате "Артасастра" (ок. 350-283 до н.э.), во времена Империи Маурьев (Ашоки) - 321-185 до н.э. - женщины служили телохранителями при королях. На эти должности отбирали крепких силных женщин. Они проходили серьезную тренировку в единоборствах - их обучали владению мечом, луком и приемам борьбы.

Вооруженных телохранительниц также нанимали для присмотра за гаремами, наряду с евнухами. Греческий путешественник Мегасфен посетил империю Маурьев и описал высоких и крепких телохранительниц царей. Он восхищался доблетью этих женщин. Эта традиция продолжалась и в период Империи Гупта (320 - 550 н.э.)

Личная отвага и мужество женщин особо проявились во времена Виджаянагарской империи (1336 - 1650). Многие надписи на скульптурах того времени свидетельствуют о героических деяниях женщин. Иностранные путешественники, посетившие империю, такие как португальцы Доминго Паес, Фернао Нуниз и Дуарте Барбоза, русский Афанасий Никитин, генуэзец Николо Да Конти, араб Абдул Раззак и др. оставили свидетельства о доблестях женщин. Женщины-охранники охраняли различные части военных укреплений, дворцов и гаремов. Они прямо докладывали императору о всех происшествиях. Они даже присматривали за офицерами. Они всегда носили кинжал, длинный меч и щит. Некоторые были также вооружены луком и стрелами. Некоторые из них были превосходными наездницами. Их насчитывалось не менее тысячи.

Многие каменные скульптурные композиции на стене храма Хазара Рама содержат скульптуры воительниц, сражающихся с мечами, кинжалами, щитами и луками. К сожалению, неизвестны их имена и биографии.

Императоры Виджаянагара покровительствовали местным единоборствам, в частности борьбе (кусти). Фестивали Дасара в Хампи включали в себя состязания по борьбе. Борцовские схватки были очень яростными и жестокими, так что часто приходилось оказывать первую помощь раненым. Самымиу знаменитыми борцами той эпохи были Маллаппа Наяка, Бимаджетти, Рамаджетти и Венкатаджириджетти.

Женщины-борцы

Теперь раскажем о женщинах-борцах. По сведениям иностранцев женщины демонстрировали борцовские навыки перед царями, царицами и знатью.

Специально приглашенный на представление португалец Фернано Нуниз, наблюдал женскую борьбу и был поражен. Он писал, что ни в его стране и ни в одной из всех, где он побывал, такого не было. К счастью, согранилась каменная скульптура (датированная 1444 годом) в Шикарипуре в районе Шимоги, изображающая эпизоды борцовской схватки женщины по имени Хариякка. Там же есть скульптурное изображение всего представления.

История Харьякки

Hariyakka
Древняя женщина-борец Харьякка побеждает мужчину, поборовшего ее отца

Жил-был знаменитый борец (пайлван) Наданагауда, который принадлежал к племени Джетти. Он был знаменит по всей Виджаянагарской империи . После его смерти, по его стопам пошел его сын Мадигауда. У него была дочь, Хариякка, которая также была отличным борцом. Однажды борец из соседнего племени вызвал Мадигауду на поединок. Тот принял вызов, и между ними состоялся борцовский поединок. К сожалению для Мадигауды, тот не просто проиграл, но и был убит во время схватки. После этого победитель вызвал других добровольцев бороться с ним. Харьякка приняла вызов, и состоялась схватка между мужчиной и женщиной. Харьякка, которая была превосходно тренированным борцом, сумела победить противника и убит; его, отомстив за смерть отца. Это событие явилось большой сенсацией во всем царстве - оно было выгравировано в камне. Интересно отметить, что на скульптуре женщина выглядит как настоящий пайлван, в то время как ее противник - как карлик. не исключено, что археологи откопают и других женщин-борцов, подобных Харьякке.

Профессор Нарасимха Мурти
Бывший глава Отделения Древней Истории и Археологии университета Мисора
OurKarnataka.


Популярные виды женского единоборства в Индии

Самыми популярными традиционными видами борьбы и рукопашного боя у индийских женщин являются Кусти и Калари, а также командная игра-единоборство Кабадди

Борьба Кусти

Kusti
Борьба кусти на фестивале Мисору Дасара, 2008 год
Фото из альбома

Кусти (кушти) или Пелвани - вид традиционной индийской борьбы, представляющий собой синтез старинных арийских и индуистских стилей борьбы, история которых прослеживается до 5 века до нашей эры. Этот стиль распространился в Южной Азии в эпоху Великих Моголов.

Борьба Кусти во многом похожа на современную вольную борьбу. В то время как приемы Кусти и вольной аналогичны, правила отличаются - вольники борются на ковре, а схватки по Кусти проводятся на грязных влажных площадках, поэтому этот стиль считают прообразом современной борьбы в грязи, исключительно популярного среди женщин. Главными принципами борьбы Кусти являются физическая культура, дисциплина и сила всех частей тела. Основное внимание уделяется технике захватов. Одной из популярных ныне форм Кусти является "Нада Кусти".


Единоборство в стиле Калари

Kakari
Занятие калари

Калари на южноиндийском языке Малаялам означает площадку для занятий рукопашным боем. Все занятия и соревнования, которые называют Калари Пайатту, проводятся на площадке Калари (буквально - ток, гумно), которая специально конструируется для занятий рукопашным боем. Пайатту означает упражнение с оружием или тренировка.

На площадках калари тренируются и борются не только мужчины. На протяжении веков, женщины также тренировались на калари. В старину, когда мужья, наставники и сыновья уходили сражаться с врагами, молодые женщины оставались дома и должны были защищать семьи и селения от врагов и разбойников. Они тренировались во владении холодным оружием и приемами невооруженного рукопашного боя. Женщины из высших слоев общества владели навыками боя с различными видами оружия - мечами, копьями, а также подручными средствами - ножами и веттукатхи (мачете). Женщины из низших слоев были более искушены в рукопашном бое без оружия.

Калари - важный элемент обычения и воспитания в древней Керале. Калари играла огромную роль в истории Кералы, когда жителям этой страны приходилось защищаться от завоевателей.

Существует множество легенд о знаменитых женщинах-бойцах, таких как Унниярха, Это была легендарная героиня, которая победила во многих боях. В настоящее время Калари Пайатту - метод физической тренировки, самообороны и борьбы. Этот вид единоборства связан с традиционными церемониями и ритуалами.

В настоящее время существуют школы калари, в которых девушки обучаются приемам рукопашного боя


Современные соревнования девушек по национальной борьбе Кусти. Вмдеоклипы

Kusti Kusti


Кабадди

Kabaddi
Эпизоды матча по кабадди
Щекните на изображение, чтобы посмотреть видеоклип

Широко популярная у индийских женщин командная игра Кабадди включает в себя элементы рукопашного единоборства, по сути являясь командным единоборством. Площадка для игры в кабадди (размерами с баскетбольную) делится на две половины. Каждая команда состоит из 12 человек, но на поле их семь. Цель игры - заработать больше очков, осаливая или задерживая соперников. Каждая команда попеременно посылает одного игрока против цепочки соперников с целью осалить как можно больше соперников, не будучи задержанным до перевода дыхания. ЦЕль защищающейся команды - схватить атакующего и удерживать его до того как он переведет дыхание. Когда обороняющийся хватает атакующего, происходит короткая борцовская схватка, с использованием техники кусти. По сути - эта игра - имитация единоборства двух групп (аналогично русской "стенке-на-стенку", но без ударов и с более сложными и утонченными правилами).


Belur woman warrior
Индийская женщина-боец, Белур (Тан)
Фото с веб ресурса Indian Study Abroad

>> History of Female Combat

>> History of folk female single combat

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: