клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Women's boxing will be included at the 2012 Olympic Games


Namus-Flores
Women's boxing

Chris Namus, left, of Uruguay and Leli Luz Flores of Colombia battling
for the WBC (World Boxing Council) super lightweight interim title on August 8, 2009 in Montevideo.
Photo: Pablo Porciuncula/Agence France-Presse -- Getty Images
New York Times


Русская версия


August 13, 2009. Berlin, Germany (CNN) -- Women's boxing will be included at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, the president of the International Olympic Committee announced .

The decision came during a two-day IOC Executive Board meeting in Berlin, at which board members also decided to propose golf and rugby for inclusion in the 2016 Olympic Games.

"I can only rejoice about the decision of inclusion of women's boxing," IOC President Jacques Rogge told reporters. "I think it's a great decision. Boxing was the sole (Olympic) sport with no women involved. The sport of women's boxing has progressed a lot, a tremendous amount, in the last five years and it was about time to include them in the Games."

A men's class will likely be axed to make room for three women's weight categories at London 2012, the UK Press Association reported. Women will compete in the flyweight 48-51kg class, lightweight 56-60kg and middleweight 69-75kg, the agency said.

When the IOC dropped baseball and softball from the 2012 Olympic program several years ago, it said it would consider adding new sports that had a clean reputation and a wide appeal. Rogge pointed out that women's boxing has around 200 athletes who could potentially compete in 2012, while softball has only around 120. As a result, he said, the IOC considered women's boxing to be more popular.

Women's boxing has boomed in Britain since 2005, with the number of registered female fighters rising from 50 to 600, PA reported. Softball and baseball were considered for inclusion in the 2016 Games along with squash, karate, roller sports, golf and rugby, but the board decided to consider only the last two.

"Golf and rugby scored high on all the criteria," Rogge told the IOC's official Web site. "They have global appeal, a geographically diverse line-up of top iconic athletes and an ethic that stresses fair play."


Namus knocked out by Flores
Knockout in women's boxing

Chris Namus is knocked out by Leli Luz Flores on the first round
Photo by Pablo Porciuncula (Photo credit should read PABLO PORCIUNCULA/AFP/Getty Images)


>> Digest

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 


Женский бокс включен в Олимпийские игры 2012 года


Namus-Flores
Женский бокс

Крис Намус (слева) из Уругвая и Лели Луз Флорес из Колумбии дерутся
за титул в суперлегком весе на первенстве WBC (Всемирный совет бокса). Монтевидео, август 2009.
Фото Пабло Порсиункула (Agence France-Presse -- Getty Images)
New York Times


English Version


13 августа 2009 года. Берлин (CNN). Женский бокс будет включен в олимпийские игры 2012 года в Лондоне, заявил президент Международного Олимпийского Комитета.

Решение принято во время двухдневного заседания Исполкома МОК в Берлине, на котором также принято предложение включить гольф и регби в программу Олимпиады 2016 года.

"Я рад, что решено включить женский бокс в олимийскую программу",- заявил президент МОК Жак Рогге. "Я думаю, йто великое решение. Бокс оставался единственным олимпийским видом, в котором не участвовали женщины. Женский бокс достиг большого прогресса, особенно за последние пять лет, и настало время включить его в программы Игр"

Вероятно количество весовых категорий у мужчин будет сокращено, чтобы можно было включить три женские категории в олимпиаду в Лондоне, сообщил британский пресс-секретарь. Женщины будут состязаться в категориях "муха" (48-51кг), легкой (56-60кг) и средней (69-75кг).

Когда несколько лет назад МОК отказался включить в программу Игр 2012 бейсбол и софтбол, было сказано, что включаться будут те виды спорта, которые широко популярны. Рогге отметил, что в женском боксе есть около 200 спортсменок, которые могли бы участвовать в Играх, в то время как в софтболе только 120. Поэтому, женский бокс был признан более популярным.

Женский бокс в Британии переживает бум с 2005 года, за этот период количество зарегистрированных боксерш увеличилось с 50 до 600. Софтбол и бейсбол рассматривались как возможные виды для включения в Игры 2016 - наряду со сквошем, карате, роликами, гольфом и регби. Но решено было включить только два последних вида.

"Гольф и регби оказались выше всех по рейтингу", - сообщил Рогге на официальном вебсайте МОК. "Эти виды спорта очень популярны, широко распространены географически и в них культивируется честная игра".


Namus knocked out by Flores
Нокаут в женском боксе

Крис Намус проиграла нокаутом Лели Луз Флорес в первом раунде
Фото Пабло Порсиункула (AFP/Getty Images)


>> Дайджест

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: