клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 



Islamists against women's wrestling


Islam and female wrestling

Русская версия


Islamist zealots have launched a battle cry against the first ever women's wrestling competition in Bangladesh, calling it "indecent".

Bangladesh took the initiative for the event as international bodies are trying to accelerate women's sports. But an Islamic group, "Jamiatul Ulama Islami Bangladesh", threatened to prevent the women's wrestling competition to be held Sunday.

Consequently, a worried Bangladesh Wrestling Federation shifted the competition to the Women Sports Complex from the National Sports Council gymnasium.

But that did not prevent the Islamic group from continuing its protests. It has now urged some pro-Islamic political outfits to join its efforts. Mohiuddin Khan, executive president of Jamiatul Ulama, declared a jihad against the women's wrestling competition and said if the government did not stop it, they would protest. "We are even ready to sacrifice our lives to stop any kind of indecent sports in the country," Mohiuddin told on Thursday.

In a statement, the organization demanded an immediate embargo on the competition, which, according to them, will hurt the religious feelings of millions of Muslims.

The wrestling federation, however, is firm in its decision to hold the daylong competition, where around 100 women from 11 districts are slated to compete in eight weight categories. "We have been asked by FILA, the world body for wrestling, to introduce the women's version of the competition in line with many other countries," said Tabiur Rahman, general secretary of the federation.

State Minister for Youth and Sports Fazlur Rahman said he had no idea about the conflict but believes it is unfair for an organization to threaten to thwart a sports event. "We have some obligations to international bodies to accelerate the women's event. Hence, different federations have taken different initiatives," he said.

"New Kerala", July 2, 2004
Dhaka, Bangladesh

Bangladesh's first women's wrestling competition was called off moments before the start Sunday following threats from Muslim fundamentalists who termed the event "vulgar and indecent." Tabiur Rahman, general secretary of the Bangladesh Amateur Wrestling Federation, announced the postponement but told The Associated Press, "we will organize it again in a few months time."

Associated Press
July 4. 2004


>> Digest

>> Woman and sports

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated:

клубfemale
женскихsingle combat
единоборствclub
logo
 

 



Исламисты против женской борьбы


Islam and female wrestling

English version


Исламские фундаменталисты в Бангладеш организовали акции протеста против первого в истории этой страны чемпионата по женской борьбе, называя это мероприятие "неприличным".

В Бангладеш было решено организовать это соревнование как международное, с целью развития женского спорта. Но исламистская группа "Улама Ислами Бангладеш" угрожает не допустить проведение женского чемпионата по борьбе, намеченного на воскресенье

В результате, федерация борьбы Бангладеш, озабоченная этими угрозами, перенесла соревнования из зала Совета национального спорта в женский спортивный комплекс

Но это не остановила протестантов из этой исламистской организации. Они призвали другие исламские организации присоединиться к протесту. Мохиуддин Хан, председатель организации "Джамиатул Улама", объявил джихад (священную войну) чемпионату по женской борьбе и пригрозил, что, если правительство его не запретит, они организуют протест. "Мы даже готовы принести в жертву наши жизни, чтобы прекратить распространение всяких неприличных видов спорта", - заявил Мохиуддин.

В заявлении этой органиизации требуется наложить немедленный запрет на предстоящие соревнования, которые, по их мнению, оскорбляет религиозные чувства миллионов мусульман.

Федерация борьбы Бангладеш, однако, тверда в своей решимости провести чемпионат, который будет длиться один день и в котором будут участвовать около 100 отобранных женщин из 11 провинций для участия в соревнованиях в восьми весовых категориях. "Международная федерация борьбы, мировой центр борьбы, попросила нас представить женскую борьбу, как это сделано уже во многих других странах", - сказал Табиур Рахман, глава федерации.

Министр по делам моложежи и спорта Фазлур Рахман заявил, что не погнимает, в чем конфликт, но считает, что никакой организации недопустимо угрожать или срывать спортивное соревнование. "У нас есть обязательства перед международными спортивными организациями ускорить развитие женского спорта. В связи с этим, различные федерации выступают с различными инициативами", заявил он.

"Нью Керала", 2 июля 2004
Дакка, Бангладеш

Согласно сообщению агентства Ассошиейтед Пресс, первый в истории женский чемпионат Бангладеш по борьбе отменен перед самым его началом в воскресенье из-за угроз фундаменталистов, считающих это событие вульгарным и неприличным. Табиур Рахман, глава федерации борьбы Бангладеш, сообщил агентству о переносе соревнования на более поздние сроки, но уверил, что организует их через несколько месяцев.

Ассошиейтед Пресс
4 июля 2004г.


>> Дайджест

>> Женщина и спорт

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление:

Last updated: